My Second Half Marathon: Training Peak Week

I totally did not follow a training plan for this half marathon. Back in December, I recommitted to running regularly and focused on lacing up 4x per week, building up to a weekly long run of 10 miles. I ran whatever distance/pace I pleased, but it was generally pretty easy.

Once I arrived at home, my running definitely took a hit! There were a few weeks where I did less than 15 miles, and I skipped a long run on more than one occasion. The one run I didn’t want to skip, though, was a twelve miler! I felt like I needed that run mentally just to remember that I could actually run that far, hah.

I also ran fast last week for the first time in who knows how long! It was the day before I ran long and MAY not have been the smartest plan, but it was pretty darn fun.

Here is what went down for my last week of “training”:

HalfMarathonTraining

Monday: 5 miles easy. 

Tuesday: OFF. I was expecting to do my 12 miler on Wednesday, National Running Day!

Wednesday: 6 miles speed. 2 miles @ 7:15, 1 mile @ 8:04, then 3 miles treadmill progression @ 7:44 average. I spent some time around 6:57 pace and felt surprisingly good!

Thursday: 12 miles @ 8:30. I think the part of this run that I am the proudest of is that I actually ran UPHILL. 993 feet of elevation gain later, I stumbled in my front door and just about died.

Friday: OFF. I was too busy eating donuts for National Donut Day to bother with exercise.

Saturday: 7 miles easy

Sunday: total body strength. Man I suck at strength training these days. I love it, but it’s so much harder to fit it into my schedule than going out for a run! Plus I’ve been prioritizing running lately with races coming up so everything else has been taking a hit.

TOTAL: 30 MILES. 4 runs, 1 long and 1 speed. Time to taper! Who knows how to do that, anyway?

One thought on “My Second Half Marathon: Training Peak Week

Leave a Reply

