WIAW // Eating for Balance + Recovery

I think my biggest obstacle with getting back into blogging is finding a timeslot for it! When I was at school, I had a much stricter routine with my days (necessary to keep up with a college course load!) so blogging happened at the same time every day. Now that my work (and life) schedule is different every day, I’m finding myself ready to collapse into bed without having blogged yet.

But here I am! Hooray for me! It’s 10pm, I’ve been up and going since 5am, and am surprisingly still a functional human. Which I definitely credit a part of to my eats lately. There has been tons of fruits, vegetables, oatmeal and protein, with a solid injection of more indulgent meals out and desserts. Since I’m so active at work in addition to working out a lot, I think the extra calories have done me good! Or is it well?

But lezbehonest – nobody really cares.

lezbehonest

No school –> my grammar begins to cause physical pain. Let’s prepare ourselves with pictures of my delicious meals from a day trip to Banff. Thanks to Jenn for hosting the WIAW linkup!

Breakfast at Wild Flour Bakery

breakfast

 

Organic yogurt with berry compote and homemade granola. YUM. There was the perfect amount of everything in this meal, and it actually lasted me four full hours before I got hungry again. My stomach going longer than three hours is basically unheard of, so that was cool. Ish. But I really like food so eating every hour is a fun time for me.

Lunch at Bear Street Tavern

IMG_1974

I really cannot explain it, but sometimes the thought of meat makes my stomach TURN. I had been craving a panini, though, and this goat cheese & veggie one hit. the. spot. Lately when I eat sandwiches I’ve been turning them into four open-faced toasts, so that I can taste all the delicious ingredients without being overwhelmed by the amount of bread. But still eating it all because CARBZ.

Dinner at HOME.

dinner

would follow up a comment about meat grossing me out with a meal of steak and mushrooms. What can I say, though? The heart stomach wants what it wants. Also greek salad because veggies are friends.

I definitely ate some snacks throughout the day, but apparently they were nothing noteworthy because I have no pictures of them! I do have a foggy image of unwrapping a Quest bar in desperation mid-car drive, though. 😉

I think it’s also noteworthy that while this was my second rest day in a row, I woke up on Friday even more sore than after a workout! My best guess is that recovery is FAR more important than any of us realize and our bodies take full advantage of the R&R (and nutrients) we give it.

Speaking of which, as you are reading this I am off for my last long run of 12 miles before next week’s half marathon! I say 12, but would be fine with 10. I really just want a PR (< 1:53), and I could really care less if it is ten minutes or ten seconds. As long as I cross the finish line grinning like a lunatic, I will be happy. But to do that I should probably grind out a distance I haven’t ran in OVER A YEAR.

Wish me luck, and happy Wednesday!

4 thoughts on “WIAW // Eating for Balance + Recovery

  1. Yummm all of your eats look amazing! I am currently dying of jealousy because I’m juuustt heading into my finals week this upcoming Monday and want to be on summer vacay SO FREAKING BAD.

    Good luck on your run, lovely! Guess who stopped running as soon as her half was over?

    *hides*

  2. I’m definitely more sore the day after they day after my workout! They say it takes 24-48 hours for the soreness to kick in, which I guess makes sense since your muscles are trying to recover. What a great day of eats!

  3. i totally get the whole meat turn off every once in a while! its heavy in my stomach. FYI ur berry compote made me drool #noshame! lol

Leave a Reply

