PR Half Marathon Training Week 4 + BOSTON.

IT IS BOSTON MARATHON MORNING!!!!!

boston-marathon

I am actually writing this post on Sunday, since as you read this I am either a) still sleeping or b) rushing off to my Film Studies final exam tutorial, so you will have to wait for all my thoughts on it until tomorrow / via Instagram / Twitter.

Just know that I have been obsessively following everyone running it through social media and watching clips of Shalane Flanagan approximately 700.89 times per minute.

http://c.brightcove.com/services/viewer/federated_f9?isVid=1&isUI=1

You guys, I really need to BQ. Like, yesterday. SO, in order to do that I need to get my half marathon time way down! I don’t want to be one of those people that runs 14 marathons before they qualify. I’m pretty sure my knees would murder me if I let that happen. One race equivalency calculator told me I needed to run a 1:37 half for a 3:30 marathon…I’m really hoping that’s not true because I’m pretty sure that’s my 5K pace.

We will stick with 1:45-1:50 for now! Here is the rundown of last week:

Monday: total body strength. 

Tuesday: 7 mile tempo. The overall pace of this run was 7:59…but there was not one mile split within 20 seconds of that pace. It also included a super slow cool down up a hill (excellent planning, Emma) so apparently my pacing skills leave much (or everything) to be desired.

Wednesday: 10 miles. Hooray for not feeling like death after a 10 mile run! It used to be that 9 miles felt like nothing, and then as soon as I added one more I could barely move all day. Well, for whatever reason this did not happen this week and I am super duper happy about it! I’ve started eating a snack instead of drinking chocolate milk after I finish…maybe that has something to do with it?

simply-bar-maple-pecan-2Classic Canadian move…image via Angela 

Thursday: total body strength. I was planning to only do upper body to rest my legs, but the squat rack was empty… The squat rack is never empty!! So I had to go for it. After 3 x 8 @ 95lbs, I ended with 5 reps @ 115lbs! I’m pretty sure I can do 1-2 reps at 130lbs (bodyweight) at this point but I am too scared to try without a spotter.

Friday: 6 miles easy. Easy runs around campus = awful + boring. Easy runs into Kits / Whole Foods = I love running lalalala life is wonderful and perfect. Which one do you think I went for?

Saturday: OFF. You could not pay me to do more than drink coffee and sit in my stretchy pants.

Sunday: Vancouver Sun Run 10K. Recap coming tomorrow! Spoiler alert: It is the largest 10K in Canada and everyone told me I would be shuffling, not running. WELL GUESS WHO PROVED THEM WRONG. #rockstar. 🙂 + 1 mile cool down.

TOTAL: 30 MILES. Never in my life have I run over 30 miles per week! I probably won’t increase it more than 35. But I will be getting a training plan from Beth soon so we will see what her knowledgable mind tells me to do.

Did you follow the Boston Marathon?!

Do I need a spotter to go for 130lbs? 

4 thoughts on “PR Half Marathon Training Week 4 + BOSTON.

  1. Yay for 30 mile week! Great job! And I agree with you on BQ being incredibly fast. I hope to qualify one day too, but I have to REALLY get serious..or just wait till I’m older and it’s a slower qualifying time 🙂 I say all this as I’m watching the women do 5:xx miles at mile 20…insane.

Leave a Reply

