The Great (YouTube) Fitness Tag

WHAT IS UP, friends. I have literally been staring mindlessly at my computer screen for the last fifteen minutes, but my brain is toasted. Dunzo. I don’t really feel like I got enough studying done today but tomorrow is a fresh start, amiright?

Now that I have (tragically) finished Grey’s Anatomy, I need something else to watch in the evenings. I tried out a couple other Netflix shows, but nothing was really doin’ it for me. Somehow I stumbled across this whole world of fitness youtubers, and have been happily binge watching all their videos. 🙂

Now, I am very happy as a non-calorie counting long distance runner, but there is something about the whole flexible dieting / heavy lifting world that I find really interesting! Brittany Lesser is what got me interested it in the first place, and she is just an awesome, inspirational girl regardless of her achievements (which happen to be pretty awesome!).

Anyway, she posted a “Fitness Tag” video that looked like it would be fun in blog form! I obviously edited a couple of the questions to make it fit the healthy living blogger world, so I would definitely love it if you wanted to do it too! 🙂

1. If you never got into healthy living, what would you be doing?

Drinking until 5am, and living surviving off of bagels and ramen noodles! <– I am actually very proud to note that none of the above has occurred during my first year of university. I may be in the minority of college students, but I am so happy that my life is where it is!

2. What is your favorite and least favorite body part to work?

I LOVE to train legs. Even though I can’t squat/deadlift/etc. all that much weight, it still makes me feel strong and amazing. I’m not really a fan of any upper body workouts, but I especially dislike shoulders. They are just hard and annoying for me.

3. What would your last meal on earth be?

A homemade panini with avocado, hummus, turkey and cheddar dipped in salsa, with Haagen Dazs vanilla ice cream for dessert. DONE.

SANDWICH

[Tweet “Gut reaction: what would your last meal on earth be? “]

4. If you had to choose between eating only carbs or only fats, which would you choose?

Haha…I sorta feel like I do this anyway –> all the carbs. I notice that I feel SUPER snacky and have intense cravings when I don’t eat enough fat, but I often go all day eating probably around 70% carbs. #oops?
5. Who is your “crush” in the fitness industry?

Lauren Fleshman! I also love Kara Goucher and Shalene Flanagan, but Lauren feels so much more relatable to me, for whatever reason (I think she is 30ish with a child). Maybe because she is a blogger too? I absolutely love her mindset with regards to women’s running, fairness in the pro world, and basically everything else. #girlcrush

LF_Hero_image3

6. If you had to pick ONE food to have 0 calories (but still taste the same) the rest of your life, what would you choose?

This is kind of a strange question, since it honestly wouldn’t affect the way I eat anything. BUT I suppose I wouldn’t mind a nightly bowl of ice cream having zero impact. 🙂
7. Would you rather never be allowed to lift again but have your ideal physique, or be allowed to lift but work your butt off for your physique?

Since my physique is not anywhere on the list of why I lift, I definitely have to go with the first one! I lift weights so that I can be a strong runner and strong in life. And I run because it makes me feel strong in life. 

HALF MARATHON
8. What are your short and long term fitness goals?

Long term: Qualify for the Boston Marathon. Which means I really super need to get around to running my first marathon!!!

Short term: 1:45 half marathon, and everything else necessary to achieve the above! This winter I also would love to train for a sub-20 5K, as well as squat my bodyweight.
9. What is the best thing that has changed about your life since committing to this lifestyle?

I always have something to strive towards, no matter what is going on in my life. Whether it’s friend troubles, family issues, or moving away from home, I always having running and health to keep me focused and grounded on what is really important.

10. a) Runners: What is your favorite way to get your cross training in? 10. b) All other peeps: What is your favourite form of exercise? 

Heavy lifting! Preferably squats but I am becoming more and more partial to deadlifts. I wish I loved yoga / plyometrics since those are much more running-specific, but I’m very happy with where I am at. 🙂

What are your long and short term fitness goals? 

What would win a fats vs. carbs showdown? 

One thought on “The Great (YouTube) Fitness Tag

  1. My long term fitness goal is to qualify for Boston as well! I would love to be at the starting line someday 🙂
    I actually need to make a few more short term fitness goals – I squatted 25lbs more than my bodyweight yesterday, which made me really happy, and I also ran my first half this year, so those were my 2 big 2015 goals 🙂 I think my next short term goal is to build up my running base and NOT get injured!

Leave a Reply

