Running Favourites.

Do you know what is my favourite? Wednesdays that feel like Mondays. Because when you have a holiday Monday, no classes on Tuesday / Thursday, Wednesday is pretty much the only day of the week. Because we all know that Friday doesn’t really count. Who wants aboard a one day week? ALL. FREAKING. ABOARD.

Anywhoville, on the topic of favourites: I saw this survey over at The Athletarian last week, and decided it was the perfect replacement for WIAW. Cause it’s almost exams and ain’t nobody got time fo food pictures ova here.

Um…I’m not actually a gangster. Ok. Moving on.

1. Favourite running location: By the seaside.

Yup, I run by the seaside. How idealistic is that? If I was in Edmonton answering this question, there is an 89% chance I would have said the treadmill. Buuuuut I am currently living in a paradise that puts the mountains right behind the water. I’m okay with this.

Perfect views & a perfect run.The view from where I end my long runs. 

2. Time of day. ALL. DAY.

I’m sorry, but I don’t have a proper answer to this question. In the spring / summer, I love running in the morning equally as much as I do running in the evening. Mornings runs start my day off right and make me feel like a rockstar, but evening runs give me something to look forward to and let me be super lazy all night with zero guilt. That happens anyway, but it’s nice to have a legit excuse.

love-bed

In the winter though…there is no favourite time. I hate and despise running in the dark with a burning passion, so that leaves about eight hours during which I am occupied with school & work. Solution: let’s move to California and live in a perpetual state of summer.

3. Ideal weather. 14 degrees Celsius.

I say this because I just came back from a beautiful sunset run (I’m writing this Tuesday night), and that was the temperature outside. I was in shorts and a T-shirt, and was neither hot nor cold. BUT a hot shower still felt amazing.

4. Fuel. Honey Stinger Organic Energy Chews / Orange Nuun / Vega sugar-free energizer .

On runs over 7 miles, I use some sort of fuel. Lately, I have been loving drinking Nuun with breakfast, and then a few energy chews along the way. If I am doing a shorter run before breakfast and feel like I need a boost, then Vega energizer to the rescue! I also just ordered some Picky Bars because I am obsessed with Lauren Fleshman and am excited to try those out as well.

Screen Shot 2015-04-07 at 9.47.28 PM

They seem pretty Picky about quality nutrition.

5. Accessories. Spibelt / Garmin Forerunner 10 / iPod shuffle

Super attractive fanny pack? Numbers & stats for my inner Type A? Distractions for the girl with an attention span shorter than a chipmunk? Check, check, and check.

6. Rewards. 

I don’t really feel like I need to reward myself for the physical act of running, since I honestly find it rewarding on its own. BUT I already cheated on a question above so: ice cold chocolate milk and couch time with Runner’s World.

How is your week going so far? 

Tell me some/all of your running favourites!

5 thoughts on “Running Favourites.

  1. Wooo I feel like I can connect with you more now that I guess I’m sort of a runner (my longest run was 9 miles last week, am I in the club yet 😉 ?)! Anddd with ya on running by the ocean! My favorite run takes me around the lagoon, right next to the ocean, and then onto the pier. The pier goes almost a quarter of a mile out into the ocean and is absolutely amazing to run on! And on the topic of fueling during runs, I really need to get on that. I feel so drained on my longer runs now. Muahhh <3333

  2. Jealous about your one day week – can I be in college yet? 😉
    My running faves: any Brooks shoes! And my birthday is coming up, which means new running shoes 🙂 Aka the only kind of shopping that I enjoy 😉

  3. Pingback: Tuesdays on the Run: Running Favourites | Getfithappyhealthy

Leave a Reply

