Five Fast & Fantastic Feasts

Don’t you wish there was a word for “meals” that started with F? Yeah, me too. All day, er’ day. OH WAIT – there is! Thank you, thesaurus.

Last summer, when my only responsibility in life was to show up to work a few hours at a time, I had a lot of extra hours on my hand. Sure, I’ll spend half an hour grilling waffles to perfection on this random Tuesday morning, why not? 

wafflesIf I go to a fancy restaurant, maybe. 

These days, that doesn’t really fly. Not only do I not have the time available to do that, I have no desire to! If I have an hour break for lunch between classes, I want to spend at least 57 of those having a break. Sue me! But a girl can only eat so many pre-made sandwiches while retaining sanity, so something’s gotta give. Enter: the fast and easy-to-prepare meal. It feels homemade and tastes homemade, minus all of that prep work!

These are my five favourites that I rotate through pretty much daily. If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it, am I right?

FiveFastAndFantasticFeasts

1. Peanut Butter Overnight OatsThe first one is a shameless plug – my apologies. But there is just seriously nothing better than waking up and having breakfast already made for you. 

2. Avocado / Hummus + Egg Toast. <– always unsure whether or not I want to capitalize things like that – not a recipe title, but still a title. #englishnerdstruggles. There are so many nutrients packed into this, and if you throw the pan in the sink to wash later, it takes less than three minutes!

rp_eggs-hummus-768x1024.jpg

3. Microwave Egg White Oatmeal via Peanut Butter Fingers. What can I say – oatmeal makes my world go round!

Three-Minute-High-Protein-Egg-White-Oatmeal-Recipe_thumb Image from Peanut Butter Fingers

4. Sweet potato + ground turkey. If you pre-cook these two (!) ingredients, this meal takes literally 30 seconds. Every time I go home we cook up a few batches for me to freeze, so that I have instant meals even with no oven access! Just mix it all up into a bowl and devour hot or cold – this is one of my all-time favourite meals.

5. “Beefed” Up Snack Plate. Seriously – when all else fails, don’t forget it is totally acceptable to throw a bunch of everything together and call it a meal. One of my favourites is veggies + hummus (I will go for at least 1/2 cup!), deli turkey and an apple + almond butter. So much crunchy satisfaction, and again – probably less than a minute of prep time! I also love wrapping carrot sticks in turkey and then dipping them in hummus. Try it!

 What is the maximum time you will spend preparing a meal? 

2 thoughts on “Five Fast & Fantastic Feasts

Leave a Reply

