The City Gym Workout

For most of you lucky folks, your gyms are juuust starting to calm down. The massive hordes of resolution-ers have dropped off, and you can finally use your squat rack / bench / treadmill <— you know what I’m talking about!

Now, I’m not hating on the resolution-ers. I absolutely love to see people committed to starting a fitness journey. What I don’t love is not being able to move from a mat for 5 seconds before I see that someone has snagged my spot!

no3

And for some of us, that is the case year-round. There are certain places in the world: popular cities, universities, universities in popular cities that are busy everywhere, all the time.

So, with this in mind, I bring you The City Gym Workout: minimal equipment needed, all of which you can bring to a little corner of the gym and do yo thang. You could even do this at home, if you are a lucky duck with a solid setup! This is, in my opinion, an awesome workout for runners because it incorporates plyometrics, core stability, balance, and strength all in one fun lil’ package.

The usual disclaimer: while I may be a wannabe kinesiology student / personal trainer, at the moment I am neither. So please use your personal discretion and recognize that this is what works for me and may not work for you. 🙂 

Equipment: 

BOSU ball

Moderately heavy dumbbells (think bicep curl weight)

Medicine ball

Exercise mat

CityGymWorkout

Yes, I most definitely had way too much fun making this graphic. The picture is of the bridge I drove across when I showed up to Vancouver for the first time in my life! Which was also the time that I moved here. 🙂

Some notes on the exercises: 

  • For single-limb motions, do ten reps per side = twenty in total!
  • The bosu squats, russian twists, and lateral lunges can all be weighted or unweighted, depending on your fitness / energy levels
  • Bosu squats
  • Renegade rows
  • Half ball jumps
  • Please google any others that you are unsure of! Safety + proper form > all

 

I plan to do this on those days that I just can’t drag myself out of bed early enough to hit the gym before class, and have to squeeze in during peak times. Fun fact: last week my gym was at capacity, meaning I had to wait outside until someone left. #UniversityGymLife.

Have a happy Wednesday!

What do you do when someone steals “your” equipment at the gym? 

I very seriously consider making that a legitimate excuse to skip a workout…then force Mature Emma to show up and get it together.

4 thoughts on “The City Gym Workout

  1. I am at an awkward stage where I don’t belong to a gym, but I wish I did. It’s just between running, dance theatre, pit, babysitting, AND trying to get a ride, I can’t go often enough to get my money’s worth 😦 This looks like an amazing workout though!
    Seriously, you have to wait OUTSIDE of the gym? That’s insane.

    • I go to the gym WAY less at home because the commute there just makes it ridiculously time consuming – so I get it! I think with running / dance theatre you have your hands (or feet?) full anyway, so I wouldn’t worry girl. 🙂

Leave a Reply

