It’s Okay to be Mad, but Do NOT Be Embarrassed.

This post can alternately be titled: The Time I Described My Life in Harry Potter GIFs. 

thought-you-ought-to-know

I sort of snapped last night. I had an extremely long day:

  • class until 6pm
  • migraine during a 3.5 hour film lecture / screening (p.s. I despise movies)
  • all the nearby eateries were sold out of their food (?); no thank you to donuts for dinner = STARVING
  • my room keys fell off my keychain
  • approximately 200 pages behind in readings (and no that is not an exaggeration)

Peace + quiet when I get back to my room. Please. 

shut-up-harry-potter

Alas, when one lives with a roommate, that is not the case. Ever. I do not have a place to retreat to in Vancouver and, being an introvert, sometimes that really gets to me. Last night was one of those times. My roommate, who I am in a fairly neutral relationship with (i.e. we don’t fight but don’t talk at all either) talks on the phone in the room a lot –> which is totally okay. It’s our room, we talk on the phone. But for some reason, maybe due to my headache and exhaustion, it sounded like she was yelling.

You guys, I was thisfreakingclose to losing it.

bellatrix-hermione

But I didn’t, and I’m really proud of that. So instead of totally descending into the land of crazy pants, I made myself a sandwich, hot chocolate, and curled up with Grey’s Anatomy (LOVE! And I am obsessed). And then after I plugged my earphones into Spotify, cranked up the volume, and proceeded to do yoga with my eyes closed.

I felt so incredibly therapeutic during that time, I don’t even remember the last time I felt that good. I was listening to songs like Bang Bang (judge me), and was on a Jillian Michaels yoga mat that took up half the room, so it obviously wasn’t a typical yoga class. But it was exactly what I needed!

love-magic

I could have been self-conscious about my super attractive, super sweaty hair. I could have worried that my roommate was going to think I was a freak for doing downward dog and trying to balance on one leg without crashing into my mini fridge. But instead I did exactly what I needed to do, which led to me happily blogging on my bed / office instead of having a meltdown.

So what I want to say is this: you don’t always need to “channel your emotions”. Sometimes that stuff is just BS, and all you need is to just get MAD. So get mad. But don’t you dare be embarrassed for being you. ❤

snape-always

Ok. Cheesefest over. It’s been a while since we had one of those so I’m pretty sure you knew that was coming.

What is the last thing that made you ANGRY?

Tell me I’m not the only one listening to ridiculous pop songs?! 

P.S. we watched an excerpt from The Birds in lecture today and I jumped out of my chair exactly 7.7 times in terror. Just thought you might want to know. 😉

P.P.S. Make me watch any movie even remotely frightening and I will never speak to you again.

2 thoughts on “It’s Okay to be Mad, but Do NOT Be Embarrassed.

  1. I’m so proud of you for not losing it – to be honest, I probably would have if I had dealt with such a rough day!
    The last thing that made me angry … my 12 year old brother who was being a pest. I semi-lost it and basically told him to go to his room as soon as he walked through the door. Definitely not a proud moment.
    I love ridiculous pop songs 🙂

  2. i know xactly how you feel about having one of those days. being an introvert. wanting your own room. then try coming back to your room and having your roomate (about the same relationship you havve) have FRIENDS over. as in her guy friend from back home. unannounced.
    ….leads to hallway yoga for me. kudos to you for not losing it girl! hope its going better!

Leave a Reply

