Thinking Out Loud: Fall Musings in January

Wasn’t it just Thursday yesterday? It’s always scary how fast time flies when I’m at school. So much to do, so little time! Thanks to Amanda for hosting the best linkup of the week. Bring on the randomness!

Thinking-Out-Loud

1. I am at the end of my dining-hall rope. There isn’t a lot that I can actually tolerate from my residence’s dining hall, let alone enjoy. Cottage cheese with frozen blueberries and mangoes is pretty much the only thing I look forward to eating there – and it has been missing for the past few days! There is literally a hole in the salad bar where it used to live and it is making me annnngry. Also hangry.

2. There are only 3 months left of my first semester. Say what? I thought grade twelve went by fast. Granted, three months is pretty much the entire semester but still. It’s not really bittersweet, though. I’m excited to live in my own apartment, cook, decorate, and feel more established in my degree. So soon!

3. Although I may not have a degree. Yet. Like I said yesterday, if I don’t get into Media Studies, I want to spend a few months of next year in Toulouse! Granted I will have to find a visa and a job, but it is definitely something I am willing to work to make happen.

ToulouseYah I think I could get used to this.

4. The library is already open until 10pm. That is where I am writing this post from, and I sincerely hope there are not people already studying that late. Are there even assignments out yet? The guy across from me is on Facebook, though, so there’s that. ๐Ÿ™‚

5. I ran up a hill this morning. I usually go out of my way to find flat routes, but I took a chance on some elevation change this morning! I’m giving up the whole ‘monitoring pace’ thing until I can run for at least an hour easily, so I decided I might as well go for it. I’m evenย considering doing some (gasp) hill sprints soon.

9. This.

photo

Can you even imagine?! One could buy a beautiful house, car, go on a shopping spree, donate a ton of money to charity, start + finish a retirement fund with money left over…or they could drink alcohol for a night. Hm. Difficult decision.

7. My brain is getting an MRI. Or I am getting an MRI. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I’m actually super excited! I’ve been obsessed with Grey’s Anatomy lately, and they are always doing these fancy brain surgeries. Obviously I wouldn’t be pumped to get my brain cut open, but I’m hoping it will be at least a little more fun than lying on a bed like I did for my knee. But I am clueless about medicine so who knows.

8. Anyone else find this a little curious?

They are right next to each other in the bookstore, and maybe this is my over-analyst coming out, but it feels like it is spookily hinting at some (becoming outdated!) societal stereotypes for men and women. Men must be big and strong, women must be small and delicate…I know the fitness boom is beginning to diminish these, and more and more women are looking to get strong, but still…ugh. It makes me squirm.

photo

9. Making coffee in your dorm ROCKS. You save money, enjoy better quality…that is, until you forget how to clean the Aeropress you’ve used 100+ times and dump coffee grounds all over your desk. And bags. And bed. I cleaned off the emergent stuff, but I still haven’t gotten to the rest of it…#CollegeStudentProbs right?

10. Leaving it at #9 today because my brain has officially left the building! Or does this count as #10? I don’t like numbers so don’t answer that for me.

Tell me your plans forย the fall!

10 thoughts on “Thinking Out Loud: Fall Musings in January

  1. I wish i could spend time abroad, even if abroad is still in the US. Im pretty sure our library is open till midnight and its the first week. I dont know who could possibly be studying that late already.

    • See how your school manages their exchange program! I know that the majority of Canadian universities allow you to pay domestic tuition and offer scholarships, so it might even be less expensive than what you pay currently. And if you can’t play volleyball in England (random example because I’m obsessed) there is always cricket! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. Cool beans! I really wish I had made more of an effort to find an opportunity to study abroad, so I say definitely make it happen!. A lot of my friends have done it, and have nothing but good things to say. As for me, I guess I’ll have to satisfy the wanderlust by travelling whenever I get the chance. No complaints!

  3. Oh dining food. I remember it well, but not too fondly I must admit ;). Don’t worry! Soon you’ll have moved out to your own apartment and will be free from all the nastiness that is served there hahah! Oh, and on the note about libraries, my library is always open 24 hours. It’s 6 stories tall and ENORMOUS, so after 12 p.m it’s “overnight study” and you need to move down to the first two floors. Another plus is that it has a built-in coffee shop ๐Ÿ˜‰ . During finals week, it’s PACKED.

    Also, I’m not a big fan of those workout books. I completely agree with you on the subtle stereotypes depicted in them. Ugh, society.

    • Errrmahgerd as soon as I am in my own apartment you will be hearing from me NONSTOP making exclusively your recipes, hah! I’ve heard of 24 hour libraries during exams, but that’s crazy that it’s all the time at your school! You must be a dedicated bunch. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Although, more often than not I just see people sleeping in the library than actually studying.

    • THANK YOU for laughing at my pain. Although it was pretty hilarious, especially because I wanted to swear so badly but my roommate was still sleeping. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I totally agree with you on #earlymorningprobs, but mine was 7am. I’ve gone soft.

  4. Totally go live abroad, it was the best thing I did, and I think eventually I want to do it again. Take a year off work and go learn Spanish and surf in Costa Rica.

    Sorry about the coffee mess, but I have to say, coffee is always worth it. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

