Stop Hating on Goal-Setting

monday-minion

In November, I was high on adrenaline. That seemingly impossible goal of passing computer science was all-consuming, and quite literally propelled me through the entire month and energized every single one of my days. I knew in November that the reason I felt so happy all the time was because I was thriving under such a goal.

computer-science-code

And while I partly stopped posting in December because I was focused on enjoying my time at home, it was also because I felt lost. I was no longer constantly working towards something, and I ended up just drifting through the month. I was perfectly fine with that, though. Christmas break was exactly what I needed – time to recoup and recover from a taxing semester! It’s the fact that the feeling is still hanging around that has got me a little out of sorts.

sheldon-throwing-papers-gif

I want to preface this with the fact that I am happy here. I have some great friends, I love my classes, and I especially love the city of Vancouver. But I feel like I’m not working towards anything right now, which in turn has me feeling gloomy and low. It’s not a surprise that Arts degrees aren’t exactly difficult – they aren’t work-free, but they don’t require a massive amount of dedication. I don’t even know what major I am working towards in my Arts degree – and I still contemplate whether I should take a science like Kinesiology.

martin

Running has had more ups than downs lately. I just came back from a great (albeit short) run with a few people in my residence, though, so maybe that means things are finally starting to turn around.

This is basically an excessively long intro to a post explaining why I think that goals are important. The start of the year will typically find the internet split up into two camps:

  1. My New Year’s Resolutions – and How to Stick to Yours!
  2. Why New Year’s Resolutions Suck

I consider myself to be a very opinionated person, but one thing that I never do is try to sway others to my beliefs. I will respectfully express my opinion, and in return expect to be respected (that’s a bit of a tongue twister, hey?) but I refuse to try and convince another person of something that they disagree with. So there’s my mini disclaimer for this post.

Just like people become addicted to endorphins, I’m addicted to goals. I can never seem to be productive without one – my only solid training block in my life came before my half marathon.

almost-done

The only time I did well in science courses was when I was applying to university. And the only reason I did well in computer science was because I set a goal to not be defeated under any circumstances.

Everyone is different. Isn’t that what we keep preaching on all of our healthy living blogs? Don’t compare your body to another’s, and all of that? So why is it that we somehow think it’s okay to compare our personalities? If anything, that’s worse than comparing what we look like, because we have control over the former.

There are an infinite number of ways to be successful in life, and not all of them will work for everyone. Heck, most of them won’t work for one individual person. That’s the beauty of life, though. There are so many opportunities out there, that there is always a way to achieve a goal, idea, or dream.

jk-rowling-quote-mugI need this in my life, STAT. 

So stop hating on goal-setting! There is absolutely nothing wrong with New Year’s Resolutions. Or Monday Resolutions. Yes, you may be a perfect super-human who requires zero motivation or inspiration to get started on something, but not everyone is a superhero. The fresh feeling of a blank slate is extremely motivating for a ton of people, and all the talk minimizing them makes me angry.

Morale of the story: vegans thrive on plant-based foods. Marathoners thrive on high milage. And some people thrive on specific goals. Respect yo neighbor, friends. That’s all I’m saying.

2 thoughts on “Stop Hating on Goal-Setting

  1. YES. I’ve also have been reading a whole lot of hate on New Years Resolutions and blah blah you will fail at them and that shouldldn’t just make goals at the new year. I agree with them a little in that you should try to work at feeling motivated as much as possible and not just at the start of a new year, but why the hate for the extra motivation and push it gives people? For me, it’s only have a positive impact on my life and it always excites me to think of goals I want to tackle and accomplish. I’m pretty goal-oreinted as well!

    Great post, love! ❤

Leave a Reply

