Why I’m Taking a Running Break

Sometimes I wonder if I’m really meant to be a runner.

I feel like every time I hit my “stride” and get in a regular running groove, something stops me. Whether it’s a physical injury or just a lack of desire, there is very rarely any consistency with my running.

Just a few weeks ago, I was posting nonstop about runs and how fired up I was, I ran a surprise 10K PR and was absolutely in love.

10krace

And then pretty much instantly after that, the love disappeared. It didn’t dwindle into nothingness, or slowly fade out. I literally woke up the next morning and could not fathom anything I would rather do less than run. And I continued waking up like that.

So what did I do? I stopped running! Yes, it does suck that I’m losing the base that took me so long to build back up to. And yes, I am concerned about my 10k this Sunday and my actual chances at a sub 1:45 spring half marathon. But do you know what would suck more? Slogging through runs because I “have to” and feeling tired and depleted nonstop. That was what running was doing to me, which is why I quit cold turkey.

what

I’m re-evaluating a lot of things right now. I need to stop putting so much pressure on myself in every aspect of my life! Because news flash: I’m not a professional runner and running does not pay my bills! It is perfectly okay to run if and when I feel like it, and shoot for a time goal if I want. Nobody told me I have to get a sub-1:45. If somewhere along the line I get a fire lit inside me to run that time, then great! Otherwise, I’m going to let it go.

Right now I am truly doing everything that my body is asking of me. I eat the food I crave when I’m hungry, and snack when my stomach and/or taste buds request it. If I’m tired, I don’t work out. I walk throughout the day and stretch to stay mobile. I don’t judge my body for what it looks like, and I tell myself I’m beautiful.

I don’t need anything else to validate me! So that is a rather roundabout, deeper-than-planned explanation for why there has been a dramatic lack of running posts around here. Knowing me, Life’s A Runner will switch back over eventually, but it will only be when I genuinely want to.

Although I expect that will be sooner rather than later because there is negative (really sick pun here) chance of me going outside en route to the gym in Edmonton weather.

edmonton-weatherAnd this is only the middle of November. 

I genuinely hope that this post is coherent because it’s currently 12:19am and I’ve been studying computer science for hours. Hope your Friday is amazing!

PS it automatically will be because it’s Friday.

happy-friday

How cold is it where you are right now? 

It’s between 7-10C all week in Vancouver. I’m never going home.

What time do you usually go to sleep?

Before college = 10pm MAX. Alas, my old lady days are over now and I rarely never sleep before midnight.

9 thoughts on “Why I’m Taking a Running Break

  1. Good for you for listening to your body! I know that when I take a break from volleyball I come back missing it more than ever. Its been 40F here. It was supposed to snow last night! Way too early for that.

  2. I’m the same way right now. There are some days where I love running and want to run all week, and then there are days (like today) where I’m so tired I can’t even fathom doing an ab workout.
    I think it is awesome that you are listening to your body (and my Friday was fantastic).

  3. Do what you love! That’s what I always say, There’s no point in trying to muddle through something that you aren’t enjoying at the moment! This —-> “I need to stop putting so much pressure on myself in every aspect of my life! ” YES. Don’t put unnecessary pressure on yourself. There’s no point to it and it’s not like you’re going to look back in ten years and think “Man, I wish I had run that Friday back in November of 2014. I really regret that.” 😉

    • Yup, it’s so true. You know that saying “You only regret the run you didn’t do?” Well, actually I don’t. I didn’t do it because I didn’t want to and that is reason enough for me. Plus, regrets are a waste of time. 🙂

  4. Yes, give your mind and body a break. There’s no point doing something you don’t love! ( Apart from chores like the dishes, which kinda have to be done whether we like it or not…) I’m sure your passion for running will return in due time. I find that when I have overtrained or am just burned out I cannot fathom getting out the door for another run. That’s when I hit the couch instead haha

  5. Pingback: New Balance Fall Classic 10k Race Recap

Leave a Reply

