Weekly Training Update: Slowly Increasing Mileage

I have got to say, as painful as it is to up my running mileage sloooooowly, it is 200% paying off. I’m going into my fourth week of consistent running and I am SO grateful. I’ve said this before, but I feel like my entire running career has simply been on/off, and I have never been able to make any real, solid progress because of it. But times are a-changin’! I know that the 10% rule is controversial, but if anything else it keeps me from getting too overzealous so I’m sticking with it for now. This is how last week went down!

Monday: OFF

Tuesday: 5 miles. This was a rather interesting morning. I ran to the gym in the pouring ran (~0.75 miles), spent 3.5 on the treadmill, then ran 0.75 back to my dorm. I’m sure I looked like quite a site, hopping on the treadmill at 6:30am appeared to be already covered in “sweat” (the joys of living in Vancouver). Every single step of this run felt so slow! I might as well have been sprinting on the treadmill at an 8:34 pace, and I don’t even want to know how fast I was going outside. But I RAN and that is what counts!

rain-runningPlus we all know I looked like this anyway. 🙂 

Wednesday: 6 miles @ 9:00. I have found a nice 3 mile loop that I like to do twice in the mornings. It’s great for when its too dark to see (at some points I literally cannot see the ground beneath my feet!) because I know I am not going to get lost.

Thursday: total body strength training. I worked out in the afternoon!! I know, I was shocked too. But I had so much energy after my class ended at 5pm and the last thing I felt like doing was going back to my room to do homework. So gym it was! I may do that more often – it made my day far more enjoyable. Instead of doing one of these workouts, I alternated between each using supersets!

UpperBodySupersetWorkout

 

[source.]

leg-workout

Friday: 3 miles @ 9:00. I barely even broke a sweat on this run! I so wanted to keep going. But I also wanted to feel great for my 10K race the next day, so I reigned myself in! Worth it. 🙂

Saturday: Great Trek 10K! I love running. ❤

Sunday: Total body strength training. So…my 3 x 10 105lb squats are starting to get easy…TIME TO UP THE WEIGHTS! I love getting stronger! Such an amazing feeling.

TOTAL: 22 miles of running and two strength workouts. Success!

How was your week? Do you squat? 

Please say yes.

2 thoughts on “Weekly Training Update: Slowly Increasing Mileage

Leave a Reply

