Running for Time vs. Distance

GOOD MORNING you wonderful people!

Yes, I am in a fantastic mood today and would you like to know why?

selfie

Welp too bad if you don’t because I’m just too darn happy not to share.

I’M GOING HOME TODAY! I can’t even type that without a smile on my face. Since I only have one (not super helpful/important) class on Thursday and I knew I would definitely be willing to miss a full day on Friday, I am leaving for the airport after my last class this afternoon!

I am SO excited to see my friends and family, the new location of my beloved cafe, sleep in my own bed and EAT MY OWN FOOD. Yeah, I think that one tromps you mom, soreee. 😉

sandwichI am 100% planning on this exact meal being my midnight snack upon arrival. Duh. 

I would love to get one more post up this week, but my priority is of course going to be soaking in all the homieness. Hope you understand. ❤ Well, it’s not like I have been super wonderful about posting anyway…

There IS something else that I want to talk about, and that is running…are you surprised?

On Monday morning I went for a 3 mile run on the treadmill. It was the hardest thing I have ever done. Let me back up – I went to the Lululemon Run Club on Saturday morning, and while I didn’t use my Garmin, other people’s iPhone apps said we travelled about 15km / ~9 miles. VERY slowly, with several breaks. So I knew it was long, but didn’t expect to be too sore. Then, on Sunday, I hit a squat PR. Yay! I expected to be sore after that.

walk

Because I was running on the treadmill I was hyper aware of my pace. I mean, how could you not be? It’s staring right at you! And when an 8:30 pace made me feel like I was sprinting, I knew something was off. I tried a “surge” at about a 7:40 pace and actually went down to 10:00 to recover. I ended up finishing the run right around 9 minute miles and was VERY tired.

Now, what is the point of me telling you this all? I think I’ve discovered a gem, and that is running for time, and not distance. I’m not going to do this all the time, but I think for easy/recovery runs and maybe even long runs (until training starts) I am going to scrap the idea of distance. I went for an hour long run with a friend and neither of us knew how far we went – it was just relaxed. I LOVE that feeling! I have been a bit too concerned about my running pace these days and it needs to stop.

just-run

THIS Runner’s World article very clearly explains the pros & cons of each training method. The truth is, if you are following a training plan (and not simply jogging what is supposed to be a 30 minute tempo) or simply running for fitness/pleasure, running for time is just fine! It takes the pressure off, removes the need for any fancy satellite-tracking, and can be good motivation to get out the door. I know for myself, just thinking that I am going to “run for an hour” sounds WAY more appealing than a “7 mile run”. Don’t ask me why. Runner’s brains are weird.

Ironically, I’m not off to go do any running. I wish I was, but after four tough days, my legs are SHOT. I considered walking to the gym for upper body but sleep won. 🙂

Do you run for minutes or distance? Why?

One thought on “Running for Time vs. Distance

  1. First off, HELLOOOO gorgeous!! I’m so happy that you’ll be able to get back home for a quick mini-vacation. There’s nothing like sleeping in your own bed and eating some home cooked meals :). Secondly, 9 miles?! Holy smokes. Give me some of your running ability, please ;). You are incredible!

Leave a Reply

