How I Stayed Sane While Not Running.

While I have always been very active, it hasn’t been until very recently that I have relied on exercise for my sanity. Four or five years ago when I had a serious knee injury and couldn’t run it was definitely hard on me, but that was the months of inactivity. These days, even one changes my entire outlook on life.

Since starting university, my days have been jamFREAKINGpacked. As in, I literally don’t have time to breathe until 6pm, at which point I feel guilty for breathing/eating instead of studying. It’s quite the sad situation. And it is for that reason that I have come to genuinely love waking up at 5:30am to sweat every day. Yes I am sometimes a little bit tired, but I so crave that “me” time that I actually have no problem getting up and going.

stunning-mountain-sunrise-2560x1600Because waking up to scenes like this = WORTH. IT. 

Enter: Emma turns into an overconfident, overtraining runner and her knee slaps her in the face.

Translation: I increased my running mileage WAY too fast and as a result the knee recovered from said severe injury above started to hurt any time I put weight on it. NOT. COOL.

It wasn’t possible for me to just stop exercising. It’s not about weight/fitness/burning X. Truly, my morning workouts are simply the only thing keeping me sane. (And, okay, they do make me feel a little bit better about my nut butter spoonful habit. ;)) So last week, instead of being all depressed that I couldn’t run, I took the time to fall back in love with weight lifting and discovered a new love, spinning!

Monday: OFF

Tuesday: 6 mile run with 3 @ 7:50 pace. (this was the run that started it all….. 😦 )

Wednesday: easy elliptical / spin

Thursday: DESTROYED my entire upper body + abs

Friday: easy elliptical / spin + glutes + abs

Saturday: Re-destroyed said unrecovered upper body + abs

Sunday: First leg day in weeks! Still at 95lb squat…

bambi-walking

I started my time off (Wednesday) with doing absolutely nothing that irritated my knee. I worked glutes because I knew of a couple exercises (donkey kicks, glute bridges, side leg raises) that would not affect it whatsoever. So I gave my knee four FULL days of complete and total rest. Then on Sunday I gave it a little bit of stress, but didn’t do things like lunges that still caused me pain.

AND YESTERDAY I RAN!!! 15 minutes easy, 5 x 1 minute @ 8:00 with the last 2 minutes increasing to 7:30 pace for a total of 3.1 miles. I had planned to just run 3 easy miles but got sooooooooo bored on the treadmill that I had to switch it up a teensy bit. Result was a success! I foam rolled after and have absolutely zero pain. 🙂

walking-out-of-the-gym-500x492

Now to attack this Monday – I have been up since 5:30am, and my “scheduled” day lasts from 9am-6pm with basically no breaks. Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

