Inside the Head of a 12-Day College Student

I wanted to call it “First Week”, but that is actually false considering I am almost done with my SECOND week at university! And “First 2 Weeks” just sounds awkward. So in case you were wondering, no I did not drop out of university after 12 days – that is the length of my existence in this neck of the woods. 🙂

As per usual, my head is a jumbled mess and I am sprinting around from one thing to the next (this post is going up post-run/room cleaning pre-breakfast + class) – so I’m linking up with Amanda today for Thinking Out Loud!

Thinking-Out-Loud

1. It snowed in Edmonton. In September. My first thought was, “You have GOT. TO. BE. JOKING.” And then I remembered that I don’t live there anymore, and it will be a miracle if it actually snows before Christmas (which would make me sad if I wasn’t returning to said winter wonderland for the holidays). So then I was all HAHAHAHAH SUCKERS. Sorry guys. I’m just going to enjoy my day wearing shorts and pray for you all. (Sorry Amanda. 😉

edmontonsnow

Well, maybe it’s not this bad…yet. 

2. As much as its possible with a sunburn. My hometown was freezing to death last weekend, and I was scorching. What can I say? I went for the free food – and ended up with half a bun for my burger and a sunburn. 100% worth it, though…well maybe 90%.

3. And when computer science is involved. Remember when I said it wasn’t going to be that bad? Yeah I lied. Just as I kinnnnnnda sorta started to understand something we jumped into a way harder, more complicated version of it. I have a feeling this is going to be a pattern and I don’t like it.

4. I’M RUNNING SEAWHEEZE!!! You. Guys. I have wanted to run this half marathon for THREE years – ever since the very first one. But the first year my friend backed out, the second I was out of the country and the third (this year) I thought I was moving to Toronto and didn’t want to fly all the way around the country within 3 days. BUT now that I officially live in Vancouver from September-April (and likely longer soon) I finally did it! I absolutely refreshed my page for ten minutes to ensure I would get a spot. I’M SO EXCITED!

Logo_Home

It sold out in less than 24 hours – good life decision. 

5. The President of my university did the Ice Bucket Challenge. I can’t believe I haven’t talked about this yet – it was over a week ago ! Seriously – I go to the best school EVER. He said he would only do it if they found “sustainable water”…GO UBC.

6. I’m going home for Thanksgiving! As much as I really do love my school, I love the people at home just as much, if not more. I’m skipping all of Friday’s classes and one on Thursday so that I can leave Wednesday afternoon and come back Monday night. Nearly five FULL days full of time with mom, my favourite cafe, crunching leaves (or snow I suppose) and apple pie? I could die happy.

7. It may not be a vivid memory, but I am going to end this post honoring all those affected by the tragedy of 9/11 – whether they were victims, close relatives, rescuers, or simply citizens. They all deserve to be recognized. Never forget!

 

5 thoughts on “Inside the Head of a 12-Day College Student

  1. I kept wondering why you had classes on thanksgiving day and then I remembered Canada doesn’t celebrate thanksgiving! We tried to get our athletic director to do the ice bucket challenge but he never did.

  2. Nice, girl… nice. Leave us and laugh. I see how it is 😛

    Thankfully we didn’t get hit as bad as Calgary, and the sun came out today and it’s supposed to hit 15 😆 Ridiculous. But there you go! And that’s awesome that you get to come home to celebrate the holidays with your family 🙂 That’s what it’s all about!

Leave a Reply

