A Life-Changing Run

Okay, okay, I know that title sounds dramatic. And it is! But guess what, you guys! I have discovered the secret to happiness.

In running, at least. 🙂

I wasn’t planning on working out at all yesterday. I was tired, and honestly, just wanted a lazy day. So that’s exactly what I did all day long – laid around, napped, read, it was glorious.

Lazy

Then, about an hour after a (big) dinner, I got the urge to run. I knew it wouldn’t be particularly fast considering my full stomach, and I didn’t want to work crazy hard and then not be able to sleep, so I set out for an easy 3 miles.

They were the best 3 miles of my life. (well maybe 2nd after the last 5K of my half marathon)

Unlike my past few runs, as soon as I started moving I just felt free. I didn’t feel any pressure to work super hard or run X splits, and guess what? My average pace ended up being 7 seconds slower than a run I felt like absolute death after. And I 100% attribute that to having no expectations.

Don’t get me wrong – I absolutely LOVE goal setting and working hard to reach a dream. In running, that sometimes requires pushing yourself to run, say, an 8:00 pace when you really don’t want to – because you want a 1:45 half more than short-term comfort.

But when you don’t have a specific goal? Holy man alive is it nice to just relax and smell the roses. I would have been 100% fine if my pace was 2 minutes slower than it was – I truly did not care how fast I went. I was running to run, to feel my heart pumping and the wind in my face.

But the fact that I did run pretty fast (for me) is an obvious indicator that no pressure = success. At least for me. Because the last time I freaked out about a run I ran half my planned distance slower than my half marathon pace. I won’t say I failed, but it wasn’t really a success either.

happyThe run in question. 

And what’s even better? I feel TOTALLY reinvigorated with my running now. I’m still sticking to my plan of running whatever, whenever, but now I actually want to be consistent, rather than going back to mainly lifting (which I was honestly considering).

Morale of the story: Just take a chill pill, bro.

With that said, though, I’m off to do some lifting this morning! 100lb squat, here I come. 🙂

4 thoughts on “A Life-Changing Run

  1. Whenever I go on an unplanned run, it always seems to be absolutely incredible. You almost feel like you can just sprint for miles and miles and that nothing else matters at that particular moment. While I do have a love/hate relationship with running at times, runs like that make it a LOT more love!

Leave a Reply

