Running Base Rebuilding Week One.

I’m a runner.

I can take a break to focus on rest/strength/etc no problem, but after a while I start to get the itch again. While I LOVED spending ~2 months solely focused on lifting heavy, I need running back in my life. I feel like a rockstar all day after a run, and obsessively reading running magazines > reading about pumping iron. Sorry I’m not sorry.

I feel like I just identify with being a runner too much to ever truly give it up, so I am BACK! I want to get to the point where I can run 10 miles on the weekend easily, so that I can say “There’s a half marathon tomorrow? HECK YEAH I’m running it!” 🙂 It’s sorta hard to call yourself a runner when you don’t run a lot –> what a concept, hey?

So this is how my first week of “training” went down.

Monday: upper body strength (am); 60 minute vinyasa flow (pm)

I was wimpy and didn’t work that hard in the yoga class. My legs and core burned a bit but nothing overly strenuous.

Tuesday: lower body + abs

Wednesday: 4 miles @ 8:15

Thursday: upper body + abs

Friday: 3 miles @ 8:38

When I woke up Friday morning, it just looked like it was raining. I wanted to go for a quick run to see what running in the rain was like –> future Vancouverian. When I started running, it just felt rainy and windy. When I finished running I was drenched, frozen, and feeling like an idiot. After showering/getting ready and attempting to leave the parkade, THE POWER WENT OUT. It was out all over the city. It stormed all day long, a fire hydrant exploded (!), but hey, I got my run in…

fire-hydrant

Saturday: OFF

Sunday: 7 miles @ 8:15

I had a rough idea of my route for this run so I was trying really hard not to look at my Garmin! The feeling at mile 2 of a 7 mile run is unpleasant so I wanted to avoid that at all costs. I felt like I was running easy and wondered why I felt like dying at mile 4…I WAS RUNNING WAY TOO FAST. My last mile, when I felt like I was going to be dead, was my fastest at sub-8…apparently my legs mixed up “slow down” and “speed up”. So it was a bit rougher than I had hoped, but a confidence booster nonetheless!

7-miles

TOTAL: 14 MILES. Low, mostly easy mileage helping my body acclimate to running regularly again! I’m really happy with the running/strength/cross training that I got in and can’t wait to tackle 8 miles this weekend. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Running Base Rebuilding Week One.

  1. When I took a break from running it was really welcome at first, but then I started to crave running again. Lately I’ve been running almost everyday. It feels good to my body, and it relieves so much stress. I’m glad you’re back to running! You seem so happy! And 7 miles at 8:15 after taking a break is amazing! You’re fast xx

Leave a Reply

