How to Love Your Muscular Legs.

Good morning! It was LEG DAY at the gym today, and the fact that I am consistently working hard to gain muscle and strength in my legs got me thinking, because I definitely didn’t always have this mindset. For example, today I did 4 x 8 squats at 85lbs. Not amazing, but a far cry from the 3 x 8 at 45lbs I could barely do a month ago. I am improving nonstop, and it feels STELLAR.

selfieRandom selfie because smiling = stellar. 

Growing up in sports meant that from the age of five onwards, I was working hard, developing strength and gaining muscle without even realizing it. My opinion on that right now is HOW AWESOME IS THAT? You go hang out with your friends several times per week doing something you love and build a foundation for yourself to have a lifetime of fitness.

My opinion on that about five years ago: My thighs look fat. 

 snape-displeased

[source.]

Let me tell you a fact or two. When you, for eleven years, are:

  • In a tuck position strapped to wood flying 100km/h down a mountain
  •  Doing tuck jumps for hours AFTER above exercise
  • Squatting/leg pressing more than the boys on your team

YOU ARE GOING TO GET LEG MUSCLES. This is wonderful. Having the ability to move yourself, whether it is walking, running, skiing, jumping, or anything, strong legs = freedom. Possibilities.

Not to mention the ability to move OTHER things. Do you want to rearrange your bedroom? Lie on the floor with your back against the wall and push that bed to the other side.

In this day and age, the focus is all about “long and lean”. Girls don’t want to get “bulky”. Well, I’m not here to tell you that lifting heavy won’t do that. I think the CrossFit/lifting movement has done that for me. What I am trying to say is that long + lean does is not the only way to look gorgeous.

Get-Lean-and-Toned-Legs-with-This-Workout[source.]

There’s nothing wrong with wanting a certain look – but google “leg workout for women” and “Slim lean legs!” will show up more times than you can count. That’s great for some women, and I’m not discrediting them at all. But what about those of us that just can’t achieve that look? Not without endless cardio and dieting to force our bodies to use up our hard-earned muscle? That doesn’t sound remotely appealing to me. 

It’s taken me a long time to love my legs. I kid you not, I used to google “how to lose leg muscle”. No, that is not a joke. I was so embarrassed of my “thunder thighs” (–> I will never use that phrase again), that I was obsessed with getting rid of them. They were different from all the other non-athletic skinny girls and I wanted to fit in.

Do you hear that, though? They made me different! My strong, muscular legs made, and still make, me unique and set me apart from the stereotypical female. They allow me to run far,

12-miles

to squat more than I used to weigh, and feel proud of the dedication it took/takes to achieve them. They make me unique, and for that, I love my muscular legs. 

This is my best advice if you are in the same situation as I was! So often we are uncomfortable with things that set us apart. It does make sense, though. If there was nothing different about us, we wouldn’t have anything we thought was “weird”, because everyone else would have it too.

And who really wants that? Who wants to look exactly the same as every other girl on the planet? EMBRACE your muscles, girls, not only for what they can do in the world, but for what they can do for you. 🙂 Make you unique, proud, independent,

and stronger than yesterday. 

6 thoughts on “How to Love Your Muscular Legs.

  1. LOVE this post! I went through a phase where I was not a big fan of legs as well. I played soccer for 12 years and I’m pretty genetically predisposed to have a lot of leg muscle. If I stood next to my mom you would laugh at how exactly the same you are! Which is potentially awesome since my mom has super toned and non-cellulite-y legs at the age of 47 and I’m hoping mine stay that way too ;).

    But anyways, muscular legs are great!! There’s nothing better than a good leg day workout to leave you feeling strong and empowered. I’ve totally gotten over any dislike I’ve had for mine and now feel like a rockstar in my spandex and strut around like nobody’s business haha. Embrace em!

  2. I love this post 🙂

    I have never had strong legs. I have always gained weight in my stomach, and I wasn’t very active up until a little over a year ago, when I started running.

    Now, between running and recovery, I am getting these HUGE leg muscles. You should see my calves. Skinny jeans are not friends 😉 I am loving my big legs. These legs are what make me faster and stronger.

    YAY MUSCLES ❤

    And by the way, you look absolutely gorgeous in your selfie.I love your smile! #perfection

    • NO FREAKING WONDER you are getting major muscles, with being such a rockstar in recovery and everything. 🙂 I’m SOSO glad you love them. Let’s just be cheesy here and turn that #perfection right back around on you girl. ❤

  3. I am so impressed at your way of taking on a beautifully positive mind set on this – something that I myself wouldn’t be the happiest to admit on, and I think other’s don’t expect it because..in their eyes your legs are pretty darn perfect!? Argh we are our worse critic. As I’ve been horse riding all my life, my legs have developed a stronger appearance than the girls around me..I totally relate to the thunder thighs by the way! While I -for the most part- have made peace with my body, it seems like back then I was the only one veiwing my legs in a negative light! Thought-provoking, no?

    • You are so right! I can’t, and I don’t think a lot of people can, honestly say that they remember dissecting other kid’s appearances. We are all way too focused on ourselves to notice other imperfections! I think this stays true as we get older, all though I have been known to have a mini girl-crush when I see strong muscles. 🙂

Leave a Reply

