I Went For A Run. Also, I’m Immortal.

First off: HAPPY CANADA DAY to all my favourite Canadians out there! Enjoy the sunshine while it lasts and eat a hot dog, mkay? 

Yep. After nearly 2 weeks of zero running, I hopped on the treadmill and miraculously stayed there for 3 miles.

It definitely wasn’t intentional. I thought I was going to do sprints for 10 ish minutes after doing an arm workout but then I reeeeaaalllyyyy didn’t feel like going fast and my top was a little bit lacking in the top area if you know what I mean.

But I just couldn’t stop! I missed that feeling SO so much and even indoors, going for a run again was literally breathtaking.

national-running-day

Although, if I want to keep this up, I’m going to have to start subsisting on negative hours of sleep since HOLY MUSCLES ROCK! I am definitely not going to stop lifting buuuuuut now I need/want to fit in all the runs! No half marathon #2 for me anytime soon, though. Plus I’m loving this whole: lift more, eat more situation without getting fat. 😉

So…that run though. I did 3.0 miles @ 8:27 pace and…yikes. Normally I would not even be thinking about being tired yet but I might as well have gone pool running. I guess taking a break will do that to you, but man was it rough. My right ankle also really hurts now but I’m choosing to ignore it and deny the fact that it came from running because I’m immortal, duh. 

coffee3

I’ve also decided that sleep is overrated. See the above. I know that people usually come to that realization while studying for the horrors that are diploma/final exams but I, of course, came to this divine knowledge with as much time to sleep almost whenever I want. The past two nights I have slept about a total of six hours and I feel GREAT!

I didn’t feel so great yesterday…I basically laid on my bed for two hours, found a ton of motivation, and went to the gym!

walking-out-of-the-gym-500x492

Then came home and laid down for the rest of the day because the gym sucked out the 0.001g of energy I actually had left. AND THEN I COULDN’T SLEEP because I had been so lazy all day. Skip to the following morning when I wake up at 5:30am without an alarm for leg day.

I waaaas feeling like quite the rockstar. Until I realized that the gym opened at either 7am or 7:30am on Canada Day and I had to wait around for an hour before leaving. So. Annoyed. But I will be more annoyed if I arrive precisely at 7:00 and have nothing to do for another half an hour. I considered going for a run instead, but I already ate flax toast and it’s leg day…I can’t just skip leg day.

Morale of this post: 

1. Don’t sleep. There are many more productive things to do with your time.

2. Ignore possible injuries, they’re just weakness leaving the body.

3. Don’t skip your workout, you can lie down all day afterwards.

I’m quite the healthy living blogger, hey?

7 thoughts on “I Went For A Run. Also, I’m Immortal.

  1. Congrats on your run! I think it’s totally fine to get in a little extra cardio to break up all the weightlifting you’ve been doing and keep you interested :). And who needs sleep anyways ;)? Sleep is for the weak hahah! (Just kidding, I ❤ my sleep).

  2. Haha I love it! Also: make sure to go to a foreign restaurant (the spicier, the better) the night before big races and stuff yourself silly. AND wear all of your new clothes on race day 😉

    Have a great rest of your day! xoxo

Leave a Reply

