WIAW: When I’m A “Real” Teenager.

Can I just take a moment and make my intro about how much I love WIAW? There are so many different types of posts and recipes that all get linked up onto one awesome blog, and I get to discover a whole bunch of awesome new blogs every week! I have to say, though, how has it been so long since I’ve joined in on the party?! Over 2 weeks! Blasphemy. Don’t worry, though, that’s ending now.

I don’t actually eat like a freak anymore. I definitely eat healthy food but there are a lot of things in my diet that would be deemed “unhealthy” by food purists.

Take my go-to pre run snack:

fig bar

Pre-packaged, not-homemade, will-last-longer-than-the-apocolypse fig bars. I like them because they are a great way to get a good about of carbs/calories in my system before running without even feel like I ate anything. I get cramps super easy while running, so even the potassium in a banana doesn’t cancel out its volume/filling effect. If I eat these for a snack, I’m starving 2.2 seconds later which is exactly why I love them!

Or my post run recovery of choice:

ovaltine

I seriously dream about chugging a cold glass of this during all of my runs! Even the ones when I come in soaking wet from the rain…it’s just the BEST. Sure, it has vitamins, but it also has some chemicals/weird ingredients. But it’s delicious so I don’t care.

I happen to like candy…a lot.

werthers

My sandwiches almost always have deli turkey (YES I KNOW THERE ARE NITRATES BUT I’M A FREAKING TEENAGER AND NEED TO YELL TO PROVE THAT I HAVE MORE IMPORTANT THINGS TO WORRY ABOUT)

SANDWICH

Okay so clearly that was a bit dramatic but my point remains the same. I know that nitrates and chemicals are not healthy – but the focus of my life cannot be about being healthy! It should be about living life, and if that means eating foods that turn my blood to sodium every once in a while, so be it.

earls

I can love to incorporate nourishing foods and activity into my life to live a healthy lifestyle, but I only have 2 more years left of being a teenager!

I’m not going to sacrifice these years of frappuccino drinking, burger devouring, carefree eating for the sake of perfection. Now, If you will excuse me, I’m off to go eat everything I see at the end of year BBQ!

Is there anything “bad” that you eat regularly? Do you care? 

3 thoughts on “WIAW: When I’m A “Real” Teenager.

  1. Instant hot chocolate every day right now! And Big Korn bites fairly often pre-braces :p . I hear ya Emma, and I agree 110%..there’s so much more to life than devoting mental anguish into the amount of sodium running through your blood!

  2. Its really hard sometimes to eat healthy, especially as a teenager who doesnt buy her own groceries. But sometimes you just gotta eat what sounds good no matter how many delicious chemicals are in it

Leave a Reply

