WIAW…Almost Vegan Eats

Happy Wednesday to ‘ya! 🙂

I HATE missing What I Ate Wednesday! And I missed last week’s thanks to running around like a chicken with my head cut off attempting to make myself attractive for the weekend. But no worries I’m BACK, so thanks for having me (and the rest of us), Jenn!

Yesterday I noticed something a little interesting. All of my meals turned out to be suuuuuper close to being vegan, but had just one thing each that kept them in the “everythingtarian” category. Case in point:

Breakfast was oatmeal topped with bananas, blueberries and peanut butter. With an egg whipped in for some extra staying power.

oats

Lunch was (and probably will be for a while) the new standard PB+J. Or is it the old standard? I don’t even care. IT’S JUST SO YUMMY. But my stomach usually starts getting angry in math class if I don’t have something extra, and it’s usually some greek yogurt on the side.

ABJ

When I’m not mindlessly snacking on frozen banana slices out of the freezer (SO ADDICTING!) I have been blending them up into smoothies! Salads have basically disappeared around these parts as of late, so getting some greens in somewhere is a good idea I suppose. This could be 100% plant-based without protein powder…but a starving Emma = dontcomenearmeEmma so let’s leave that in there, mkay?

smoothie

…I don’t really have an explanation for this. My container is completely empty at this point, but they don’t have any animal products, right? 😉

werthers

Annnnnd, then dinner was a whole lot of meat on top of a whole lotta veggies. You can’t win ’em all, can you?

My biggest point in writing this is to highlight how AWESOME plants and plant-based proteins are (even if mine aren’t necessarily the healthiest) but also that they don’t always provide enough substance. If you’re vegan/vegetarian/99%plant-based and feel great, GO YOU, ROCKSTAR. But maybe you’re tired and hungry and wonder why! At least in my own experience, adding that complete protein helps me feel like I’m not always hungry (but let’s be honest I almost always am anyway).

What’s your experience with plant-based eating? 

8 thoughts on “WIAW…Almost Vegan Eats

  1. I love this! I always come super close to being vegan, but something always messes it up! Not that I WANT to be vegan.. I agree that having some form of animal products helps keep my hunger at bay!

Leave a Reply

