This is The End…Half Marathon Week 11.

And, just like that, my last week of half marathon training is in the books. Coming up in the next few days are a couple of easy three milers to stay fresh, but no training. At this point, all the work has been done! It’s time to sit back, relax, and enjoy the carbs. 🙂

I’m pretty happy with this week of training. I didn’t feel the best, since I think I ran my 11 miler WAY too fast. An 8:11 pace has generally been a moderate tempo pace for me throughout this training cycle, but near the end it’s been feeling easy, so I went with it. NO. BAD IDEA. I ended up with arches so painful I could barely walk, a baseball-sized knot in my right quad and a general feeling of exhaustion/soreness. Nevertheless, though, I pushed through and made it a solid final week of training.

Monday: 5 miles @ 7:55. I had planned on doing an easy 10K, but when mile 1 was an 8:00 pace my competitive edge kicked in and I wanted to maintain that pace for the entire run. Mile 4 was hard on me though and an 8:17 mile made me PUSH. IT. IN. for the last one. Mile 5 was 7:19!!! I don’t know if I’ve ever run a mile that fast, especially at the end of a tough run. 🙂

runSHORTS!!!

Tuesday: total body strength 

Wednesday: 6.3 miles @ 8:20. Like I said above, my legs felt sluggish all week, so this pace was not fun. I didn’t look at my watch much, but I felt tired whatever speed I went at. I planned 6.2 miles but finished early…so I ran uneven mileage and it bothers me far more than it should. 😉

Thursday: OFF

Friday: 12 miles @ 8:45. Longest long run! Also my slowest long run, but I didn’t want a hard effort a week before the half, so I forced myself to keep it EASY EASY EASY, not look at my watch and stay relaxed.

12-miles

Around mile 5-6 my right shoe loosened up a LOT and my arches started really hurting but I did not want to stop. And I didn’t! I made it back alive, and only looked at my garmin maybe 3 times in ~1:45. A well-planned route and a new playlist will do that for you I guess. 🙂 I need more suggestions for the race next weekend!

Saturday: OFF

Sunday: OFF

1-2 more off days than usual, but it was grad week SO I really don’t care. I thought I might do a 3-miler on Sunday and maybe some strength training, but I woke up feeling absolutely horrendous and opted to laze about instead. It makes me really happy to hit 20+ mile weeks so anytime that happens I feel quite successful. 🙂

I didn’t feel the most amazing during my runs this week thanks to 10 weeks of mostly solid training, so here’s to a week of rest and an AWESOME FIRST HALF MARATHON! I’m a tiny bit excited!

Any half marathon advice? 

What annoys you most while running? Shoelaces, DEFINITELY. And slippery headbands.

4 thoughts on “This is The End…Half Marathon Week 11.

Leave a Reply

