My First Run Club!

I love writing about running. 🙂

And the funny thing about running – the more you do it, the more you get to write about it! Isn’t it interesting how those things work?

Now that I am actually experiencing this new concept called free time I am trying to act like I have a life – aka do things in the real world. So yesterday evening I went to my first ever run club!

I was a little bit nervous, because I had no idea what to expect. It turned out that the one I went to was an all-women’s one, and was suuuuuuuuper laid-back. We stopped at all the stoplights (I always just run a different way because I hate stopping) and ran a very comfortable pace. I would definitely recommend it to anyone interested in starting out with running or feels intimidated by running alone. I didn’t meet any friends per say, but I talked to some nice girls and it was a cool and different thing to do! The only reason that I say I didn’t meet friends is because when you are 17 everyone you meet outside of high school is old. 😉 Everyone sort of laughed when I said was 17 and immediately said they felt old – even though some of them looked like they could me my age!

i-feel-oldThis was the general reaction I sparked.

They still had lots of interesting things to say! The leader is Swiss, one works night shifts, another has a sister who is training for an 87km run in Africa and another is doing the same half marathon as me! Small world. 🙂 The miles FLEW by thanks to some great company and absolutely beautiful weather (20C; 68F).

We ended up doing 4.55 miles and I ran home to finish with an even 5.0 miles because we all know how important that is. My average pace was a lot slower than usual but I really could not care less because I was out in the world doing something outside of my comfort zone, and running should be FUN! And that it was. 🙂

With that, though, I’m off to do another 5 miles this morning, hopefully at a pace closer to what I want to average in my half marathon. We will see how my legs hold up!

Have you ever gone to run club? 

5 thoughts on “My First Run Club!

  1. I’ve never gone to a run club but I kind of want to… I like running with my mum and sister but get a bit scared at the thought of running with anyone else in case they’re much faster than me / go much further than I want to go!
    I definitely should though 🙂

  2. I have done a run club and loved it. Unfortunately, my taxi mom duties keep me too busy at that time to join them. Bummer because I LOVE running with people (which surprised me!).

    Hopefully, I’ll get a chance too again when it cools down.

    Glad to have found you! Jess

    sweatismysanity.blogspot.com

  3. I love running on the track and cross country teams because I love the atmosphere of group runs. It’s just so much faster and more fun 🙂 I’m so glad you had a good experience!! Being faster than them was probably a good thing, better than not being able to keep up at all, right? 🙂

  4. Glad you enjoyed your first runnng club experience. They can be so motivating. It wasn’t until I joined my running club that I finally committed in signing up for my first marathon. And now I have ran 7 fulls! Something I wouldn’t have ever thought Id do if I haven’t met such great runners in my group.

Leave a Reply

