It Doesn’t Have to Be All or Nothing

HAPPY FRIDAY!

So we’re kinda-sorta-almost halfway through May now which is extremely awkward and I would like someone to tell me when it stopped being June 2012. Thanks.

If you couldn’t tell from the above (or my constant ranting) life has been UN-STOPPABLE lately. I know that everyone is busy and some people handle it better than others but holy man alive you guys this entire year really has just been unbelievable for me. The past few months especially, though, I have barely had time to study for exams let alone write thought-provoking, meaningful blog posts. I would rather

a) not post

or, preferably

b) write light-hearted happiness

than half-ass something that could potentially make a big difference to someone. This is something that I have had in my head for a long time, though, and after leaving ALL my homework at school on Friday (!!) I am finally making the time to sit down and talk about it.

I’m an all-or-nothing sort of person. It comes out in every single aspect of my life.

For example, running: it HAS to be a run 100% of the way. If I have to stop for 2 seconds to tie my shoe, or need a break because I just ran up 100 flights of stairs and can’t breathe, the run is either over or has to be restart. There is no middle ground.

The same goes for food. If I have one unhealthy thing, the whole day is shot and I might as well binge on cookies and ice cream all night long.

And it comes into play even outside of healthy living/exercise! I am such a perfectionist when it comes to school and will not accept anything below a 90%. I work nonstop trying to maintain this (sometimes impossible) level of achievement, and then burn myself out. And what happens then?

sheldon

I leave all my books at school and decide that I don’t care about anything. I don’t study for exams, put minimal effort into projects and then all my hard-earned grades plummet. I then feel horrible, and restart the cycle.

The thing is, it doesn’t have to be that way! Everyone having anything to do with healthy living, whether it is through blogging, celebrities, magazines, etc. seems to pride upon the elusive “balance”. It’s so much easier said than done, though, hey?

Balance is not eating a salad every day for lunch and dinner with one square of dark chocolate for dessert for everyone.

Nor is it having Amanda’s Double Chocolate Mug Cake and Ovaltine for breakfast for everyone. 

It might not be running 50 miles a week and it might not be 5!

What I am trying to say is that I am sick of the emphasis on perfection that seems to be everywhere in our world these days. I am all for determination and working hard to achieve goals, but sometimes it’s JUST OKAY to be mediocre. There is nothing wrong with an 80% average. There is nothing wrong with a burger for lunch and salmon for dinner. There is nothing wrong with running 2 miles then walking then running 10 miles then walking…etc.

Do you sense a pattern? Whatever it is you need, to do, THERE IS NOTHING WRONG!

I need to repeat this to myself on a daily hourly basis.

 Do you struggle with a need for perfection? How do you deal with it? 

3 thoughts on “It Doesn’t Have to Be All or Nothing

  1. That is so true! And it is something so few bloggers say / admit so thank you 🙂 I think in my life as I’ve gotten older (not that I’m old, I’m 25…) I’ve gotten much better at accepting that it can’t always be perfect. Or maybe just at getting realistic goals for myself as I still stress when I don’t meet those goals! But especially stuff to do with food – LIFE IS TOO SHORT! And I like chocolate and wine and humous and carbs and cheese faaaaaar too much 😀

  2. Ohmygoose yes! All the bloomin’ time..yet the bar I have set for myself has lowered immensely since ‘those dark days’. Because it was that need to be the absolute best at every.single.thing and control things that I could not – like how much I can complete in a day -that drove me to anorexia. When I couldn’t take it anymore I would fall into a sobbing mess of an anxiety attack. Thankfully I’m -working- on getting better at accepting the mantra: “I can do anything, but not everything.” We all need to be less hard on ourselves girl!

  3. Oh gosh it’s not just me… I definitely feel the same way sometimes. Or at school, if I get one bad grade, I consider myself dumb and don’t even try the rest of the week. I need to be a lot more laid back when it comes to this stuff.

Leave a Reply

