Double Chocolate Muffin-Cupcakes + Healthy Frosting!

Do you want to know something really nice about being on vacation?

For me, it’s not the fact that I don’t have to go to school (although that is a perk). My favourite part about being away is that I actually have time to do all the important things in life!

Aka reading, baking, blogging, and running.

Who needs anything else?

For the first 2/3 of my trip, we were staying way out in the country, with not much to do. Instead of doing the work that I brought with me, I chose to do the activities mentioned above!

lazy

Amidst never-ending stacks of packaged cupcakes, cakes, etc, I was definitely craving my kind of dessert, especially after my cookies and muffins disappeared.

I know that a lot of recipes around the blog world (mine lately included) often have strange, hard to find ingredients like almond flour and chia seeds. Well, there was certainly nothing like that where I was staying, so as long as you actually have food in your kitchen, you can make these muff…cakes?

They were called muffins in the recipe I adapted, but when you add the frosting they feel more cupcake-like. Hence, muffcakes…

cupcakes33

Someone get me a better name, STAT.

Anyway, I absolutely love how SATISFYING these are! You aren’t going to get any of that airy-fairy business here, nor that feeling after demolishing twelve that you could still handle a few more. One (or two) are perfectly enough for me thanks to the generous amount of dark chocolate.

Chocolate is always a good idea, right?

There’s a secret ingredient in the frosting as well that takes them over the edge.

Okay, I’m done rambling now. Let’s BAKE.

Double Chocolate Muffin Cupcakes with Healthy Frosting:

Adapted from Chatelaine Magazine

cupcakes11

Ingredients (muffins):

  • 1 3/4 cups oat flour (oats in a blender)
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 100g finely chopped dark chocolate
  • 3 egg whites
  • 1 mashed banana
  • 1/2 cup 2% Greek yogurt
  • 1/3 cup honey
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup hot water

Directions (muffins):

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F
  2. Combine oat flour, cocoa, baking soda, baking powder, and salt
  3. Whisk egg whites, yogurt, banana, honey and vanilla until well combined.
  4. Pour into a food processor and whir with hot water
  5. Let stand until thickened (they say compare it to oatmeal!)
  6. Fold in dark chocolate
  7. Divide batter into ~20 muffin tins (just fill them 3/4 way full!)
  8. Bake ~25 minutes and let cool for 15.

Ingredients (icing):

  1. 2/3 cup honey
  2. 2 tsp vanilla
  3. 2 egg whites
  4. 1/4 tsp cream of tartar
  5. 3 tbsp chopped dark chocolate (just steal it from the muffin’s chocolate!)

Directions (icing):

  1. In a saucepan, bring 2 tbsp water, honey and vanilla to a boil then remove from heat
  2. Beat egg whites and cream of tartar until soft peaks form.
  3. Pour warm syrup in, and beat until stiff peaks form.
  4. Divide amongst muffins and top with the grated chocolate!

Note: This recipe said that it made twelve servings, but we ended up with approximately sixty. I haven’t experimented with a reduced version yet, but I would reccomend either planning to bake a LOT, freezing some or halving the recipe.

cupcakes22

Let me know if you give these a try!

All time favourite dessert: GO. 

7 thoughts on “Double Chocolate Muffin-Cupcakes + Healthy Frosting!

  1. I’m with ya on baking and blogging being up there as the most important things in life haha ;). That’s what vacation is meant for! Mhmm any sort of cross between a muffin and a cupcake sounds juuust fine to me haha. STUFF ONE IN MY MOUTH PLEASEEEE!!! 😉

    Great recipe and photos, Emma!

  2. Grated chocolate in the batter must give these an incredible indulgent ‘feel’..yum! I get you on “craving my kind of desserts”..always the case with me when I enjoy a few days of the high sugar stuff.
    An all time favorite dessert (which I’m always singing about) is Peppermint Crisp/Caramel fridge tart 🙂

Leave a Reply

