The First Long Run – Half Marathon Week 5!

I know that title seems like it doesn’t make sense – Emma, if you have been training for five weeks now you have done five long runs.

Well, I have an explanation.

a) I’m suffering from massive brain fog as a result of being SICK. There is no throwing up (I know you wanted to know that) but I hack up my lungs on the regular and have taken to saying “Don’t problem” to customers that thank me.

^Don’t problem: The failure that results from starting to say “don’t worry” and switching to “no problem” mid-sentence.

Head in HandsThis is me being cultural…I also feel obligated to inform you that there is a Wikepedia page for Facepalm.

b) Yesterday was the first time in this training cycle that I ran farther than I ever have before! It is also the first run that I was nervous for, AND the first time in my life that I have run over an hour. It was a day of firsts. 🙂

I really wanted to hit 20 miles this week. It’s such an arbitrary number and the only reason for it is because I did it last week – a week when I was on vacation and had unlimited time/space. SO I was being totally unreasonable with myself for trying to achieve that. I made it to seventeen and am perfectly content. 🙂

Sidenote: YES I am heartbroken that I left Toronto four days before the Yonge Street 10k. All the picture stalking I did of the runners on instagram most definitely powered me through the aforementioned long run. More on that later – I sort of have a lot to say!

This is how running went. I managed ONE strength session and it wasn’t even full body. Rocking the spaghetti arms.

Monday: Three hundred mile walk. I do not exaggerate – from the time we woke up to the time we went to sleep all we did was walk around Toronto. I wouldn’t have had it any other way but WOW was I tired.

Tuesday: 5 miles @ 8:20 + abs. I 100% credit this to the most delicious burger and fries of my life the night before. I had the hotel fitness room ALL to myself (I wonder why everyone wasn’t down there at 6am) and felt incredibly strong the entire time!

Wednesday: OFF. We did walk a bit but also sat down and stood around a fair amount of time.

Thursday: 4 miles @ 7:58 + abs. I am really starting to enjoy morning workouts! This one was done at the gym (no dark running for me yet) and I did the first 2.5 at an easy ~8:30 pace until I increased steadily to finish sprinting like a madwoman. This one was done on four hours of sleep after getting home at 2am and waking up at 6. I had no commitments until 2:30pm. I also have no explanations. I did not fall off the treadmill though, so let’s call it a win. 🙂 We all know the reason why, though…

tired

Friday: legs + obliques. The aforementioned ONE strength session of the week. Of course I could barely walk the next day but by Sunday I was almost 100%. I don’t really remember what I did (brain fog) but it was nothing special. Just imagine squats, deadlifts and lunges.

Saturday: OFF. I was a little busy on this day getting my GRAD DRESS. 🙂 More on this later – I am doing my darndest to keep this a running post! I did run around like a chicken with my head cut off at work though, as per usual.

Sunday. 8 miles @ 8:29. 559 words later and we arrive at what we have all been waiting for. Google and my mother both told me that I probably shouldn’t run given the fact that I was coughing and had a mild fever, but I really didn’t want to miss this run. If it had been a distance I had already done I would have rested, but I can’t fall behind on training! Anyway, I was 100% expecting to run 10 minute miles, but in my ideal world I wanted an 8:30 pace. Somehow the miles ticked by and I felt like I had just started running when my Garmin beeped at five miles! Mile 6 was up the hill of death (rude) and although I wanted to throw up all my bodily organs I did NOT stop. Once I recovered I actually felt strong again and finished the last mile in 7:30! My splits were ALL over the place –> ranging from 7:30 to 9:08 but I’m just thrilled I finished strong!

long-run2I promise I wash my running clothes…I just wear the same ones every time. 

What was your biggest accomplishment this week? 

4 thoughts on “The First Long Run – Half Marathon Week 5!

  1. 17 miles is SO great!! Can’t believe how high your mileage has been getting lately! If I run half that I call it a good week ;). And going off your Monday walking, isn’t it EXHAUSTING? Honestly, a full day of walking and being on your feet wears you out like no other.

    Your long run time=amazing! You’re basically at the goal pace you set out!

    My biggest accomplishment of the week would have to be getting such massive amounts of work done. I’m a little brain dead, but I just keep telling myself that I’m setting myself up for success!

  2. Amazing job on your run! I hope you are feeling better – and if you actually threw up on your run, I am so sorry 😦
    Being sick is the worst! I went to school when I really shouldn’t have and couldn’t swallow/focus due to a sore throat, headache, and a foggy brain. Haha my math test went realllllly well.

  3. WOW!! What an awesome week of running. And those paces!! You have gotten so speedy! 😀

    8 miles. Wow. The most I’ve ever done is 7! I really hope you feel better soon- being sick sucks with running. That never ending runny nose… 😦 I wish you a quick recovery!!

Leave a Reply

