Oatmeal Raisin Chocolate Chip Cookies

You guys, is there anything better in life than cookie dough?

I don’t think so.

I think as long as I had the occasional carrot, I would be 100% happy to live off of the stuff.

Enough of it was consumed during the creation of these cookies to confirm that fact. 😉

cookies1

There’s just something about cookies. I love me my muffins and my energy bites, but sometimes you just need a cookie. 

I think I’m sort of getting the hang of this from-scratch recipe thing. 🙂

By using three different types of (healthy!) flour, these cookies have gorgeous texture, and the sweetness from the chocolate chips, raisins and honey makes you forget that refined sugar and white flour even exist.

To be perfectly honest, the only reason I used honey in these is because I feel like I always use maple syrup and wanted to switch it up. But I love the different type of sweetness it adds and will most definitely be using it in more recipes coming up!

These cookies remind me so much of my mom’s oatmeal cookies growing up. I remember eating dozens upon dozens of them after school, at snack time during soccer, and basically whenever I could get my hands on them.

Okay, I think I’ve harped on enough about how delectable these are. I will stop teasing and give you the recipe now. 🙂

Healthy Oatmeal Raisin Chocolate Chip Cookies

COOKIES

Dry Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup spelt flour
  • 1/4 cup almond flour
  • 1/4 cup oats (I used scottish)
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 50g raisins
  • 30g chocolate chips

Wet Ingredients:

  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil

Instructions:

  1. Add all three flours in a large bowl and mix until well combined
  2. Stir in baking soda
  3. In a medium bowl, beat the egg, then add honey and vanilla
  4. Microwave coconut oil for 30 seconds then add to wet ingredients
  5. Pour wet ingredients into dry and mix well
  6. Fold in raisins and chocolate chips
  7. Refrigerate dough for ~30 minutes
  8. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F
  9. Using an ice cream scoop, spoon 13 cookies on to a cookie sheet (or less if you eat enough dough to feed a small child…guilty)
  10. Bake for 15 minutes!

cookies2

Don’t freak out when you look at them in the oven, impatiently waiting for them to finish baking. They will look like miniature puddles but firm up into soft circles of deliciousness, I promise you.

What is your favourite type of cookie? 

3 thoughts on “Oatmeal Raisin Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Mhmm your description of these sound AMAZING! And I completely agree with you on the cookie dough=life thang. I kid you not when I say I’ve made a huge batch of cookie dough before just to eat haha!!

    Love that these are on the healthier side while still being delicious. Win! 🙂

  2. Simple recipe + delicious wholesome ingredients = winner! I would actually choose a muffin over a cookie..but I can’t deny that any chewy CHOCOLATE cookie gets a thumbs up from me 🙂 . Question; does the almond flour play any specific role in here?

Leave a Reply

