How To Waste Five Hours Productively

That’s an ironic title, hey?

Note: ironic, not sarcastic. Did you know that the word sarcastic is derived from the Greek word sarkasmos, meaning, “to tear flesh”? So if you say that you are a sarcastic person/are attracted to people with a sarcastic sense of humour, you really mean ironic. Unless you happen to enjoy the idea of cleaving flesh from a bone, in which case please enjoy yourself FAR away from me.

I really hate blood. I also really hate wasting time. I despise it. It makes me nauseous. I literally cannot stand to just sit and wait for something – I always need to be doing something to further some sort of cause, whether it’s homework, blogging, baking, running, etc. It’s something I am trying to work on (because we all need this little thing called rest, y’all) but I’m not quite there yet.

^ Irony. I’m just about as Northern as you can get and I try to act all Southern. Judge me. 🙂

canadianYep…and PROUD.

Add on the fact that I am horrible with flights. The longest one I’ve ever been on was nine hours and I wanted to be dead. I just cannot sleep on/in moving vehicles of any kind, so over the course of thousands of hours spent in a ski van I have come up with some tricks to make the travel time pass just a little faster.

This is my game plan to not go insane while travelling to Toronto today!

1. WRITE. Over the weekend I cooked up a few recipes, took pictures, and now I am going to draft a bunch of lovely posts and edit photos! I’m rather excited. I also have a travel journal that I bring with me on all my trips. I don’t have a set plan of when I’m going to write in it, but it’s nice to document how I’m feeling while I’m away from home.

2. READ. I also have approximately seventeen books including Romeo & Juliet , Pride & Prejudice, The Cuckoo’s Calling and Harry Potter A L’ecole de Sorciers to satisfy my reading ADD. Because we all know I can’t focus on anything for longer than 0.02 seconds.

3. ZONE. I’m not going to sleep, since we leave at 1pm and arrive around dinnertime, but you had better believe I made a new playlist. Consisting of entirely French songs. 🙂 I’m hoping to pop my earphones in and just revel in listening to music for a while. No thinking, no planning, just peace. And mental gymnastics trying to figure out what the lyrics are. 😉

Francaise

4. PLAY. I’m (still) obsessed with scrabble on my phone, so I will likely waste some of my life away trying to get obnoxiously high scores. There’s also a slim chance that Candy Crush might make a reappearance.

That is all I’ve got for you! There will definitely be some English-ing going on at some point during the trip, but I don’t like to encourage work on vacation. 😉

Hope you’re all doing well! I’m going to do my best to blog as much as possible over these next ten days, but posting/commenting might be a little sporadic. See you on the other side!

2 thoughts on “How To Waste Five Hours Productively

Leave a Reply

