Canada is A Desert (And Dessert!)

There is no way I can start this post without thanking you all for the comments on Friday’s post. Every time I am terrified to press publish you make it 110% worth it – I have no regrets about anything. You listen to me vent – but please email me if you have anything you want to talk about! I would absolutely love to listen and help in any way that I can. 🙂

So, WOW I am sure that title made absolutely no sense. Please allow me to explain.

You guys know how I always talk about living in a frozen wasteland and complain about -30 degree temperatures? Well those days are NO MORE. At least for this week. 😉

HOTWEATHER

Where do I even live? ELEVEN degrees?! This city is basically a desert now. I am SO EXCITED FOR SPRING I cannot even contain myself. I have already started dressing like a pastel so it is only a matter of time until I break out the shorts. Although, if this weather sticks around I might have to escape come summertime. I’m a true Canadian – 20 degrees (68F) is my ideal summer day. I can live up to 25 (77F) but NO MORE. Don’t ask me how I felt in Spain.

HALF MARATHON TRAINING STARTS TODAY! I was so excited to run this weekend you have no idea. I wasn’t able to get out until Sunday evening since I spent the majority of my day chasing after a four year old blonde princess, but I DID IT. And it was EIGHT. DEGREES. I think if I didn’t take advantage of that I should have been shot.

To be honest, though, I wanted to quit at mile 2.5. I thought I started out too fast and was ready to throw in the towel. But my wonderful mother was out there with me and wasn’t ready to go home, so neither was I. And I ended up having the fastest run of my life!

BESTRUN

Every time I wanted to slow down, a motivating song came on and I just kept gunning it. It was glorious. I’m wondering if I should re evaluate my time goal – I don’t want to get too ambitious, but I do want something to work towards. Something to ponder over the next three months. 🙂

I did a random lower back/arms/abs workout this morning. I reeeaaallly REALLY want to run outside in the mornings, but dark + living downtown just sounds like a recipe for disaster. Any advice?

But now on to the good stuff – dessert! I gave up fake sugar for lent (aspartame, gum, etc.) and seem to have just replaced it with real sugar…oops. I now have an undying sick addiction to Werthers that is getting stronger by the minute.

werthers

Speaking of minutes, I am 9 660 minutes gum free. Only 58 680 to go.

So since I am fully aboard the sugar train, let’s highlight all the BEST sweetness I’ve come across lately!

Chocolate Banana Bread Grilled Cheese via How Sweet Eats:  Just read that again. I die. There are literally no words glorious enough to describe this recipe. UN – REAL.

Salted Caramel Apple French Toast via Apple of My Eye: Hm, as if I wasn’t already addicted enough to apples and french toast, now they are TOGETHER?! This was seriously one of the best things I’ve eaten in my entire life. Go make it.

toastYour toast vs. THIS french toast. 

Mint Chocolate Chip Dessert Hummus via Kiss My Broccoli: It’s no secret that I bathe in hummus these days. But now, it makes an appearance at EVERY MEAL – including dessert!

Cookie Dough Brownies via Chocolate Covered Katie: You know that really horrible moment when you can’t decide if you want a cookie or a brownie? Don’t worry, I’m here for you. Well, Katie is actually.

Welp, I’m off to go fry my neurons attempting my French exam. Wish me luck!

frenchHelp me!

What is the BEST dessert you have eaten recently? 

6 thoughts on “Canada is A Desert (And Dessert!)

  1. With all due respect.. you are crazy 😉 ! While I am happy that the temperature is heightening..your idea of a desert is spell-bounding! At least we agree on dessert choices 🙂 . The other day I spotted CCK’s chocolate brownie cookies on your blog..any day now. I’m heading over to check that french toast now. Oh and congrats on the 9 660 gum free minutes :D..you can do it!

Leave a Reply

