What I’m Not Eating Wednesday

Happy hump day!

hip-hip-hooray-it-s-happy-humpdayI’ve never seen that commercial…#90skidprobs

Now, today is the first day of Lent. I actually am Baptist, not Catholic, but I do attend a Catholic school and have given something up for 40 days each year for Lent my entire life.

You may or may not be Catholic/Christian/religious so rest assured this will be the only time I mention it. And the only reason I did decide to mention it is because what I am giving up fits so well with the blog and the state of health I am currently working towards!

SO, this is a little hard to explain, but I am giving up any and all things associated with disordered eating. This includes diet ANYTHING, gum, “snacks” like cucumbers (zero substance) and most importantly, calories. I don’t count them now, but I do think about them and occasionally write down my meals.

This Lent, any time that I used to spend guesstimating calories for meals or writing down what I ate in my phone I will be putting to better use. I will be doing thing like studying, reading, running, helping around the house, and/or just enjoying my life! All of which will actually improve my quality of life – irrelevant numbers do nothing for me. šŸ™‚

calories-suck

And now, I am linking up with Jenn today to show you everything that I am banning from my life until Easter on April 20.

(and hopefully longer!)

Snacks like this. I used to eat this if I was kinda hungry ish but had already eaten “enough”. If I want food, it will be something with substance. I do this 90% of the time now, but that 10% needs to be eliminated.

cucumbers

GUM. Oh goodness this is such a biggie. I do the same with gum as the above – I feel like eating but don’t want food. I need to learn to listen to my body better – if it truly wants food, then it will get it, not a bunch of chemicals and aspartame. The reverse is also true, though. If I am honestly satisfied, I shouldn’t confuse my body with fake sugar or myself by chewing nonstop.

Googler

Plus, all those chemicals have got to be doing some weird things internally.

Unbalanced meals. As I already said, there will be zero no consideration given to calories/macronutrients, but every meal needs to have some complex carbs, healthy fats and protein. It’s not that hard, and seriously helps with feeling satisfied (and not resorting to the above!)

saladDelicious…but needs some carb action!

Carbonated drinks. Sparkling water stays, the rest goes – even my beloved Zevia. If I want something sweet, I’m going to have

A) Dessert (I never said I was giving up sweets!)

B) Werthers (my newest sick addiction)

C) FRUIT.

Not nessecarily in that order.

So, this “What I’m Not Eating Wednesday” is basically my 40 day challenge to get in tune with my body, what it needs, and what it wants!

Have you ever had a bad “addiction”? Gum and diet coke for me. DC is already long gone though.

 

10 thoughts on “What I’m Not Eating Wednesday

  1. One of my ‘bad habits’ I’ve long given up was filling up on a TON of mostly raw veg for lunch every.single.day. I’m glad you are giving up these addictions..they seem downright scary. If I had access to those groovy diet sodas you get in your neck of the woods I wouldn’t be surprised if I got addicted too!
    Happy Wednesday girl šŸ™‚

  2. Oh wow, we’re like the same person haha. I am a gum addict BUT I used to be addicted to diet coke haha. I HAVE broken the second one. I actually stopped chewing gum for a long time because I had invisalign and I couldn’t, haha.

  3. This is an awesome way to do lent. I’m so happy for you!!

    I am definitely guilty of like, all of these. I am currently focusing on my gum/mint obsession. Hunger shouldn’t be cured by a calorie free stick of chemicals. That’s not doing my body any good!!

  4. Hey I am so happy I found your blog page, I really found you by accident, while I was researching on Askjeeve for something else, Nonetheless I am here now
    and would just like to say kudos for a incredible post and a all round interesting blog (I also love
    the theme/design), I don’t have time to read it all at the moment but I have book-marked
    it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be
    back to read more, Please do keep up the great job.

Leave a Reply

