The Breakfast To End All Breakfasts: Avocado + PB Smoothie

This morning’s breakfast was so good, it has totally replaced all other breakfasts in my book.

Never mind the fact that it was -34 C this past weekend (-29F), I have been fully aboard the smoothie train lately and I am not getting off! Hey, it was -49C (-56F) in Saskatchewan this past Friday, so I don’t think we are doing too badly! 😉

freezing cold

Note: I don’t think Celsius to Fahrenheit conversion makes a lot of sense when you get into the low negatives. -49C is REALLY REALLY cold but not the cold you are likely imagining at -56. 

Anywhoville, SMOOTHIES! They are so quick and simple to make, not to mention de-lectable. They are always eaten with a spoon in this household. No straws in sight. If a smoothie isn’t thick enough to start with, it gets another handful of deliciousness thrown in + some time in the freezer. No liquid allowed.

This one doesn’t need any rescuing though! There are a couple of key ingredients that make it unbelievably creamy and, most importantly, spoon-able! Chia seeds (which I add to pretty much everything) along with avocado create the perfect texture, not to mention add an amazing protein/fat punch. You CANNOT taste the avocado or the spinach, I promise! It’s sweet without being overpowering, and makes me feel like I am starting the day off like a rockstar. 🙂

 Avocado Peanut Butter Smoothie

smoothie

Ingredients:

  • 1 large banana
  • 1 cup spinach
  • 1/2 avocado
  • 1 tbsp chia seeds
  • 1 tbsp peanut butter (or nut butter of choice)
  • 1 cup almond milk (+ more if necessary)

Directions:

  • Put banana and avocado and almond milk into the blender. Blend.
  • Add spinach and peanut butter and keep blending!
  • Last but not least, add the chia seeds and give the blender another whirl.

The combination that is banana and peanut butter never fails to amaze me. I used to only have it on oatmeal, but now I have it on ALL THE THINGS.

Let me know if you give this a try!

What’s your favourite breakfast as of late? 

6 thoughts on “The Breakfast To End All Breakfasts: Avocado + PB Smoothie

  1. I was the most anti-smoothie human alive. And now I’m doing the ‘smoothie-a-day” thing! I don’t even know..! Actually I do. Amanda converted me with her creamy dreamy chocolate smoothie..and there’s no turning back.
    I love the sound of this one. I am going to try it tomorrow. I’ll report back 😀
    Oh I’m on the oatmeal train with breakfasts for now. And those temperature figures! Arrgh it sounds painful. But by the sounds of it, you are a regular eskimo 😉

  2. Pingback: Five Things Friday #4 | pathofdiscoveryblog

  3. Pingback: Thinking Out Loud. [+ Thriving?] |

Leave a Reply

