Dark Chocolate Cookie Dough Bites

I wish I had something more original to start posts off with than “Good morning!”

But I post early and I’m usually running around like a chicken with my head cut off, making it a little difficult to come up with intelligent synonyms.

happymorning

And after waking up at 5am this morning to squeeze in an at-home workout (…the -2 degrees intimidated me, okay?), I’m having an even tougher time. 😉

But I can’t go any further without saying a huge THANK YOU to all those who commented on my post yesterday. It honestly astonishes me that there are so many people who care so much and take the time to write thoughtful, encouraging and insightful comments. It truly means the world to me and I am so thankful. ❤

Anyway, I hope you’ll forgive me for my repetitive intros. I did make you food, after all. And thanks to Jenn, its a link party!

 I was hit with a random baking urge this weekend. Well, actually, it wasn’t all that random. I’ve been craving some recipe crafting for quite some time now, but this little thing called life sort of postponed that for a while.

But after a super-productive weekend, I was ready for some quality time dans la cuisine. I spent at least an hour browsing recipes on Pinterest, but nothing seemed to be quite perfect. Eventually, I decided that I wanted to test out those funky little “energy balls” I’ve been seeing all over the blog world. Enter: Cookie Dough Bites!

energybites2

Now that I’m going to track practice two mornings per week, I need a pretty sizeable snack to have after. Since I’m not super inclined to make a cafeteria cinnamon bun the size of my head a regular occurrence, I try to bring something with me to have after. But I’m sick of relying on bars, and wanted something different (but still healthy) to have!

I didn’t want to use rolled oats (saving those for breakfast!), and got the idea to use oat flour (from steel cut oats) from Amanda’s Holiday Cookie Energy Bites!

I absolutely love the texture that the oat flour gives these bites. You feel like you’re biting into something, without having to break a sweat chewing pieces of oats. There is juuuust enough sweetness, and the chocolate adds that extra kick to take things up a notch.

energybites1

These are great for when you need a simple but satisfying snack that can be eaten anywhere, anytime! I love them for after track practice, but the ingredients are so balanced that I bet you would love them any time of the day. I won’t tell if you pop a couple before bed. 🙂

I only made four because it’s just me eating the baking around here (my mom seems to prefer chips over chocolate…the horror), but you could easily double or triple this recipe!

Dark Chocolate Cookie Dough Bites: Makes four

energybites3

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup oats of choice
  • 2 tbsp maple syrup
  • 2 tbsp almond butter
  • 1 square dark chocolate; ~10g (I used Lindt 85%)

Instructions:

  • Blend oats until a flour-like consistency is reached.
  • In a small bowl, mix almond butter and maple syrup until well-combined.
  • Add in about 1/3 oats, mix well, and repeat until all are in the bowl.
  • Chop up your chocolate and fold into the mixture
  • Roll batter into four balls (could easily be more if you wanted a smaller snack)
  • Refrigerate for ~20 minutes
  • Store in the fridge or freezer!

What’s your go-to portable snack? 

11 thoughts on “Dark Chocolate Cookie Dough Bites

  1. I am SO making these! Thanks for sharing! I have a young one finishing up club volleyball and starting track here soon. I’m still struggling with getting her to eat enough to give her energy and her going without because she doesn’t want to, you know…toss her cookies on the track.

  2. Pingback: Half Marathon Nutrition & Recovery Plan |

  3. Pingback: That Time I Was Addicted To Protein Bars |

Leave a Reply

