Every Hour On The Hour. WIAW.

So, as I’ve been saying, I am literally hungry all. the. time. these days. I don’t know what it is but I just cannot get satisfied! It’s the worst in the evenings…I’ve been putting away toast with peanut butter, an apple with peanut butter, AND chocolate with zero difficulty. And that’s AFTER dinner.

fooooood

I’ve been trying to eat balanced meals, but I’ve also been eating a lot of food that’s not-so-great. Case in point: On Saturday I had a muffin for breakfast and a bagel for lunch… Does it make a difference that the muffin was vegan and I had natural peanut butter on my bagel?

I didn’t think so. I’m having a really hard time finding the line between eating well and allowing myself what I’m craving. I basically had a week of a free-for-all, and on Monday I started back up (attempting) eating more whole foods more often in an effort to actually not be starving 24/7.

freakinghungry

This is what I ate yesterday in my attempt to satisfy the bottomless pit that is a teenage runner! I actually did manage to pack in quite a few servings of fruits and vegetables as well, which can sometimes fall by the wayside when focusing on eating more energy-dense foods. Thanks to Jenn for hosting the WIAW insanity!

 I actually got a ride to track practice yesterday morning, so I was without my london fog (tear). It’s okay, though, not having to be outside until I got to school made it all worthwhile. I think I would do pretty much anything to avoid public transit. 😉 Anywhoville, I had plain greek yogurt with berries and granola.

gyThis used to be an actual breakfast for me…LOL. It’s a recycled picture but looked identical!

I used to try and eat only a banana before practice and then have my breakfast after, but I hated eating in class. Even my discrete snacks made me feel super self-conscious, and I ended up being starving all morning anyway. So now I eat a small (for me) breakfast an hour before we run, and then a good sized snack after! Almonds and raisins fuelled me through a morning of L’imperatif and Ancient Greek play reading. 

Lunch was BOMB guys. Holy man alive. I first saw this combo on Peanut Butter Runner and knew I needed it in my life that instant. However, it somehow took me this long (2+ months) to try it out.

chickpeasalad #tupperwarelife

It was a spinach salad with chickpeas, walnuts, goat cheese, raisins and a balsamic vinaigrette. YUM. I have been all about the raisins lately, apparently. Jenn actually used craisins in her salad, but I have been overdosing on my Coconut Cranberry Granola, and opted for the little purple guys instead.

walnutraisinsalad

Then, because I have to stay at school until 3:30pm this semester, I needed a snack in math class. My mom brought home this Pumpkin Pie Larabar Alt Bar on Monday evening and I immediately snatched it up! I have been seeing these around the blog world since October but have had negative luck finding them for myself. The verdict: Perfection, as expected. You could honestly add pumpkin to anything and it would become 999x better in my opinion.

altbar

I wasn’t in the mood to go straight home, so I stopped at the coffee shop near my building and enjoyed a latte with almonds.

latte

I think my favourite part about not counting calories is my mother’s soup. Hands down, she makes the best bowl of soup I have ever come across in my seventeen and a half years of life (holy wow I am so old). I used to avoid it at ALL COSTS because it was so unknown, but being able to sit down to a big warm bowl of soup is beyond comforting after a long day. (And something I will miss terribly next year.) 

There were no pictures last night (Arctic wastelands don’t have sunlight after 4pm, apparently), but she made split pea soup and you will just have to trust me that it was divine.

Dessert (for once) had only two parts! Right after dinner I was feeling crunchy so I had a slice of toast with peanut butter and jam. And then, later on, I made Cassey’s Carrot Cake in a Mug! It was so satisfying that I wasn’t left prowling the kitchen for more. There are very few decisions I hate more than the one between hunger and exhaustion.

carrot mug cake[source.]

But luckily, it didn’t have to be made last night! There were a couple grab-and-go random snacks thoughout the day, and I pretty much ended up eating every hour. Ideally, I would like to be able to last longer in between meals (I don’t think customers would appreciate me snacking while I sell them coffee) but right now, it is what it is. There is zero guilt, only energy. 🙂

What do you do on insatiable appetite days?

6 thoughts on “Every Hour On The Hour. WIAW.

  1. You sound identical to me!! The packing it in AFTER dinner and not knowing where the food is going to because I can’t feel it in my tummy! Rich desserts/cakes seem to be what tames the monster..for real. And I get you with trying to find a balance between honoring cravings -when I know what they are that is- and eating healthy because I know I do enjoy my healthy eats. Nothing wrong with a muffin and bagel in one day 🙂

    • It is so shocking sometimes at the amount that I can eat without feeling even the slightest bit full! Although I usually end up snacking on things like apples and/or toast with peanut butter, so maybe I should give pay my ice cream some better attention. 😉

  2. YUM! All of that looks so good, especially that salad! I’m a runner too, and a college, student, and some days I have that bottomless pit thing going too! I usually curb the hunger by including a couple extra servings of healthy fats. There’s nothing an extra big spoonful (or 3) of peanut butter won’t fix 🙂

  3. I’m glad you’re listening to your body and eating instead of trying to go without food! SO important for your body and for how much exercising you do, you definitely need it :D.

    All of your food looks delish and I’m totally obsessing over that carrot cake in a mug. Clicking over right after I post this! 😀

    Have a great rest of the week!

Leave a Reply

