It’s Okay To Eat A Lot. [WIAW]

So, remember my super confusing description of my week on Monday, and how it was really my Friday? I’m not sure what today is supposed to be. I had a day off yesterday, so it’s not like it was the weekend. Oh well. Not having to go to class yesterday was MUCH appreciated. I got a ton of scholarship work done AND managed to fit in a 5.0 mile run! I’m trying really hard to keep up my running base before half marathon training starts in March. 99.9% of those runs will likely have to be on the treadmill, but it is what it is, right?

tumblr_inline_mqvcdke8aW1qz4rgp This may or may not be me some days. 

This week, What I Ate Wednesday could NOT have come at a better time for me. As in, if it was What I Ate Monday I would not have as much to say as I do now.

Recently, I have been eating a LOT. So much that I don’t even recognize myself. I’m not sure how or why it happened, but for the past few days I have been eating with absolutely zero restrictions. Am I the slightest bit hungry? Snack time! Not remotely hungry but craving something? Apple with (unmeasured!) almond butter. It was like that even when I wasn’t hungry, I was hungry. And I think I know the answer. I’ve been so psychologically hungry for so long, living by this list of “safe” foods in specific quantities that once I began to let that go there was no stopping me.

I also recommitted to gaining weight. I’m dealing with a few health issues right now that could absolutely be resolved by weight gain. I’m not looking for a ton, but I’m discovering that a growing teenager runner needs a ton to just maintain (go figure)! So, that said, here are my eats from Tuesday, yet another day where food did not control me. Instead it just all ended up in my stomach. 🙂

For breakfast, I have been absolutely loving oatmeal! I actually had a yogurt bowl the other day and couldn’t remember why I was so dead set on having them daily – it just wasn’t that good. Lately I’ve been making my Voluminous Pumpkin Protein Oatmeal and topping them with blueberries, banana and almond butter. I cannot believe what I’ve been missing out on with the AB + berries combo – holy deliciousness. I’m also back to making myself mistos (half americano – espresso dropped in water – , half milk) again in the morning, and had two! 😉

oats

Obviously I was starving again two hours later, so I broke into one of Amanda’s protein granola bars for my post-run snack!

Chewy-Protein-Granola-BarMine were not remotely as appealing as hers, so all photo credit goes to her post at Running With Spoons! 

On days that I’m home, I have been ALL ABOUT the grilled sandwiches. I actually refuse to eat a plain sandwich now, after having one nine hundred thousand too many during the first semester, but there’s something about popping it onto a skillet that makes it so much more delicious.

sandwichThis one was my beloved turkey + hummus + avocado.

After working away the early  afternoon, I met up for coffee with a friend. We had a bit of deep talk about life, and it was so relieving to clear the air. I sat down to this beauty. Espresso and milk steamed to perfection. ❤

latte Coffee and chocolate? Talk about perfection.

I’ve been checking items off of my list of “cravings”, and one of them was turkey, apple and cheddar quesadillas! I can’t remember for the life of me where I saw that combination, but it’s been on my mind forever. Not anymore! This was a divine dinner.

Can I just take a moment to appreciate the unbelievable deliciousness that is microwaved quest bars? I cannot even eat them cold anymore. I’ve been loving having them for dessert, and last night I treated myself to the peanut butter & jelly one. If you thought PB&J couldn’t get any better, you are WRONG-O. And then because I am clearly a bottomless pit these days I also had a piece of AB&J toast before bed.

quest-protein-bar-peanut-butter-and-jelly-review-2[source.]

SO, did I eat a lot yesterday? Yep! Do I feel guilty? Surprisingly, not remotely. It’s so unbelievably freeing to just eat. Whatever I’m craving, whatever I want. I’m hoping that eventually this means I am less preoccupied with food since I know I can have anything I want, but for now I am perfectly content with eating ALL. THE. FOOD.

Have you ever had an extended period of a big appetite?

15 thoughts on “It’s Okay To Eat A Lot. [WIAW]

  1. All your meals look divine – but your lunch plate. Oh man – I haven’t had a grilled sandwich in a while and now I’m craving one!!

    & girl – loving your outlook. Keep it up & the weight will come on. I also noticed eating spoonfuls of nut butter help 🙂

  2. All your eats look yummo! I have been through the ‘bottomless pit’ phase before AND I’m going through it now again..its scary and liberating all at once hey!? And only now am I gaining the needed weight..never before had I thought it possible for me to eat the amount I am now!

  3. It is awesome you are embracing your hunger! 🙂 I have only been reading your blog for a little while, but from what I know about you so far, this is a positive step for you. 🙂 I do have days I am the “bottomless pit”. It’s usually the days I lift. I definitely eat more on those days, I just try to make sure it’s more calories from chicken breast and veggies and not more calories from ice cream and cake. 🙂 If I ever posted a WIAW… it would have to be done in like 2 parts. I eat A LOT. (I don’t even think what you ate was a lot, but every body is different, so I trust that for you, it was a lot!)

  4. Don’t you just FEEL better when you eat more? I notice such an increase in my mood when I eat a lot! I definitely have a bigger appetite when I run a lot so I’m excited to start training… more food!:)

  5. Maybe it’s something in our water supply, because I’ve been going through the same.exact.thing lately. I blame the cold… and the fact that food just tastes so darn good that I want all of it 😆 I definitely went through that phase where you want to eat ALL the things when you finally realize that you can. It lasted a while, until my body realized that it wasn’t going to lose those things again. Keep it up, girl 🙂

  6. I am so happy for you that you are eating without guilt! I was the same way when I started eating again – you are right on with your explanation! And I hope the health issues go away really soon.
    That espresso looks so good 😀

  7. MY ENTIRE LIFE = A HUGE APPETITE! I always out eat everyone and everyone gets so shocked at how much I can shovel in. I seriously have a bottomless pit at a stomach, it’s crazy! LOL! Lets go get a bite together, 😉

Leave a Reply

