What I Ate Wednesday: Treat Yourself!

Hello there!

It’s a great day, today, isn’t it?

Hope-your-having

Scratch that, it’s a FAN-FREAKING TASTIC DAY.

Why, you ask, is today so marvelous? With a low of -24C and winds blowing like no tomorrow you would think that I would be curled up in a ball on my couch today…but that couldn’t be farther from the truth!

Diplomas are over, my friends.

I don’t have to spend three hours writing exams worth half my grade for another 4+ months! That is a cause for celebration in my opinion, so it’s lucky that the WIAW party is ready to celebrate!

Okay, so I realize that was basically THE cheesiest intro in the history of EVER, but I’ve been a ball of stress for three weeks, so cut me some slack, mmkay? Let’s just jump into the WIAW shenanigans before I ramble even more!

Because today was my last exam, I treated myself all. day. long. I threw “rules” about healthy meal components and ate exactly what I was in the mood for. And you had better believe I started with breakfast.

In hindsight, this may not have been the best idea for breakfast, but was it good. I topped vanilla greek yogurt with strawberries, blueberries, and chocolate chips. Swoon. I say it wasn’t super smart because I ended up STARVING during my exam and suffered a major sugar crash later on in the day, but it was 100% worth it.

yogurt2Chocolate at breakfast is always a good idea.

Please forgive me for editing the heck out of my pictures. I am currently fancy camera-less and happen to live in an arctic wasteland where the sun rises at approximately 2pm. And that’s just a slight exaggeration.

Lunch hit. the. spot. This summer (aka 5+ months ago!) I tried a bite of my friends tostie, a Dutch grilled sandwich, and have been dreaming of my own ever since.

tostie

This one had edam cheese, ham and pineapple, and was delicious. I need to start adding fruit to my grilled sandwiches! Beyond genius.

tostie2

It felt so good to 100% satisfy a craving. There was zero guilt felt afterwards, and I proceeded to lay on the couch for most of the afternoon, skipping my workout. It’s been a rough three weeks, girl needs some R&R!

I snacked on some random veggies from the fridge and sipped multiple cups of tea throughout the afternoon – it may not have been quite as cold yesterday as it is today, but the chill was definitely there! Hot beverages to the rescue. I probably consume upwards of five per day, no exaggeration.

I failed as a blogger for dinner. There were no pictures. I was STARVING! My greatest apologies are extended. It looked scarily similar to this, however.

dinner

Grilled chicken breast, mashed sweet potato and a spinach salad with goat cheese and blueberries! I went back for about 3x that sweet potato. 🙂

Aaannnnnd, because it is 900% impossible for this girl to go to sleep without eating something after dinner, I finally got around to making Amanda’s pumpkin mug cake for dessert! I am obsessed with her chocolate version, so it was only a matter of time before I tried this one as well! I do not yet possess the skills to take an attractive picture of them, however, so you just have to use your imagination! Or, you know, head on over to Spoons and stare at her jaw-dropping photos. I would go for the latter.

What’s your favourite way to treat yourself?

7 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday: Treat Yourself!

  1. The world is making mug cakes!..except for me..boohh 😦
    The best way to start the day is with chocolate; I speak from experience 😉 . Honor those cravings girl, it will do you wonders 🙂 . Hmmm mashed sweet potatoes sound goood

  2. Ah what a relief to have your diplomas over. I totally think that’s worth mentioning in the beginning of your post 🙂

    I’ve never tried pineapple & ham mixed together (nope not even on a pizza), but it does look good and quite tempting to try.

  3. Congratulations on getting through all those exams! That sounds SO exhausting. You definitely had a reason to celebrate (:

    Pineapple on grilled cheese?? Why didn’t I think of this? I will have to try that one out at home. I mean, YUM.

    I’m glad you had a FANTASTIC day with lots of delicious eats. (:

Leave a Reply

