What NOT To Do While Running

Yesterday was my longest run EVER. I went for 7 beautiful miles! I’m a little shocked, though, that I made it that far alive. We’ve been having a seriously mild winter here (read: 20-30 degrees WARMER than usual), so I think I may have forgotten where I live. I also made a few choice errors that could have set the stage for a horrific run. I did NOT need a repeat of my last run, where I clocked in mile #1 at thirteen minutes. I’m really hoping the GPS was just off…Anywhoville, next time you head out for a run or walk, don’t follow my lead and:

1. Ignore the weather forecast. did check the weather app on my phone, and was less than delighted to see -15C. However, I saw “sunny” and decided that “it couldn’t really be that cold”. Coming from the girl who has been shivering in 0 degrees this winter, that was not a smart move. My ears froze 0.03 seconds into my run and I ended up running with my hands covering them for a solid 15 minutes before I realized I could pull my headband over them. Classic. My mesh, moisture wicking shirt meant for weather more like +30C was also not the most comfortable attire. Needless to say it was a wonder I was even alive when I got home.

COLD2

I am also quite sure my inability to move made my attempts to get my key out highly entertaining.

COLD

2. Expect people to have eyes in the back of their heads. I always do this! I run up behind people and wonder why they don’t move for me. This makes for extremely awkward swerving between groups of people and lampposts/ice patches/etc. It’s not that hard to say “On your left.” Do it.

tumblr_inline_mig3voOiG81qz4rgp Or you’ll just end up like me. 

3. Decide to start “pushing it” before a MASSIVE ice patch. I was around 5.5 miles when I was starting to feel ready to be done. I wasn’t exhausted yet but I was kind of bored and just wanted a hot shower and a big bowl of oatmeal. The faster you run the faster you’re done, right? Well, actually, if you hit the ice the wrong way, crash to the ground and require an ambulance to the emergency room you will not be home for much longer. Luckily that didn’t happen to me (shocker) but I had a very close call! It makes for some awkward stares, too.

oatmealWORTH IT.

BONUS: WHAT TO DO: Grin like a maniac at every runner you see. They will either

a) Smile back

b) Ignore you

c) Turn around immediately and call the police

It’s fun to see what will happen!

What’s the dumbest thing you’ve ever done before a run/working out? 

9 thoughts on “What NOT To Do While Running

  1. Hmmmm the dumbest thing I’ve ever done before a run probably would have to be when I went for to Beerfest the night before a half. I started getting a little silly so I left home and took a cab back early. I drank a Nuun, got up for my half, and it went pretty well! Still, not smart though, I wouldn’t recommend that to anyone.

  2. I’m crazy about having the right gear for the weather… I’m that girl who wears two pairs of running tights because I don’t want my legs to go numb! I also wear two pairs of gloves (: I look gorgeous when I run, I promise! (; I laughed at the bonus- I definitely do that when I’m running. I’ve never had anyone call the police, thankfully!

  3. *Youre so cool! I dont suppose Ive read anything like this before. So nice to find somebody with some original thoughts on this subject. realy thank you for starting this up. this website is something that is needed on the web, someone with a little originality. useful job for bringing something new to the internet!

Leave a Reply

