The Finest January Finds: Music, Running + More!

I feel like today is going to be a good one. I cannot tell you how long it’s been since I’ve slept until 8am, and I’ve now done that THREE nights in a row. I know exactly why I’ve been able to, though, and I don’t like it. More on that in an upcoming post. 😉

It’s also going to be AMAZING because of the amount of support I got on my last post. I was honestly floored by the comments made and you all have no idea how much it truly means to me. Thank you from the bottom of my heart. ❤

As it’s somehow January 27 (anyone want to tell me when September ended?), I realized that I have actually found a TON of great new things this month, and wanted to share them! So, without further ado, here are my January favourites:

Food:

HUMMUS! I have known about hummus forever, of course, but it wasn’t until January that it spiralled into a minor obsession. I put this on everything now. My favourite sandwich as of late is a hummus, avocado, and turkey sandwich – holy yum. The grilled sandwich addiction is going strong, friends.

hummus sandwich

I’ve also been loving hummus and eggs on toast (try it with hard boiled, too!), as well as hummus in tuna salad plus the ever-present veggie-dipper.

eggs + hummus

 

Avocado has also been making its name in the same situations – toast, sandwiches, and tuna salad! I haven’t tried dipping carrots in it yet. Something about putting vegetables IN fruit just sounds a tad off to me. I never really ate avocado before, not because I was scared of the fat, but because I thought it would be a waste – I wouldn’t really be able to taste it and I should have nut butter instead! (Answer: there is always a time for nut butter) However, I couldn’t have been more wrong! It adds such a unique flavour to ANYTHING and makes meals so much more satisfying.

avocado

Now that the warm spell has finally broken (tear), and we’ve gone from this:

IMG_0199

to this:

weather

I’ve been needing something to warm me up, and badly! Organic cocoa powder and Forever Nuts tea by David’s tea have become my new best friends. Any hot drinks, really, but I have found myself drinking multiple (like 5+) cups of those two a day! I have a problem. It’s okay.

Running:

My Garmin! Does that even need to be said? Swoon. 

garminI don’t run with my phone now so I don’t have any other pictures yet. Sorry 😉

Hey Brother by Avicci

music

I found this song on the Winter 2013-2014 workout playlist posted by Housewife Glamour, and I have been loving it! It’s a great change of pace from my usual Eminem/SUPER fast paced music. Lorde’s new album has also been ROCKING!

Reading:

As I have said before, I currently have 5(!) books on the go, but I am BEYOND sucked in to The Cuckoo’s Calling right now. I can literally feel JK Rowling in the writing and every sentence is just so captivating. I’m in love. What better way to put off studying, right? 😉

cuckoo's calling

Life:

It’s no secret on the blog that I am OBSESSED with Jillian Michaels. Some love her, some hate her, but I am definitely a fan. I just love her “no-shit” approach to life and fitness, and find her so inspiring. I’ve been listening to her podcasts before going to sleep lately, and it’s been a fantastic way to end the day in a great frame of mind.

The TV show Samantha Who has been really fun to unwind with at the end of the night as well! 20 minute episodes about an amnesiac make for an enjoyable evening…let’s just leave it at that. 🙂

Instagram has also been consuming far too much of my time as well! This is my last full day of studying so I don’t even really have an exam anymore, right? (Wrong.) Oops.

instagram-food-pictures-photos-meals-confession-ecards-someecardsGuilty as charged.

Favourite song, movie, or book: GO!

12 thoughts on “The Finest January Finds: Music, Running + More!

  1. Avocado & Hummus are two of my favorites as well! I love pairing them together on toast/crackers. Way to keep us in suspense on your sleeping secrets 😉

Leave a Reply

