WIAW: Ninja Style

I cannot believe it has been TWO WEEKS since I linked up with What I Ate Wednesday! AKA I skipped one week. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Last week I just did not get it together to take any pictures of ANYTHING that I ate. However I was not about to miss all the fun twice in a row, so you had better believe I had my cameraย phone out and ready yesterday! <– one of these days I will start using a camera. PROMISE.

This is what I ate on Tuesday, one of my busiest days. I needed a breakfast that would keep me full for 4 hours + a run (I had to leave at 7:45am and wouldn’t be home until 11:30am), a lunch that would satisfy me after going a long time without eating yet let me be hungry enough for a 4:30pm dinner that would keep me from needing dinner #2 when I got home from chemistry diploma prep at 10pm! Yes, it was quite the day. But I survived, ninja-style. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Breakfast: Protein-Packed Pumpkin Oats

My favourite breakfast is greek yogurt with an apple and almond butter, but that typically leaves my stomach growling after about three hours. I truly have NO problem with having a snack, but I sort of think that whipping out some yogurt and granola would be a tad distracting during an exam. ๐Ÿ˜‰

oatmeal2

Tip for long-lasting meals:ย FAT! Everybody talks about protein, but if I have a high protein meal with zero fat, I’m usually starving right after. I tried eating tuna wraps with just mustard mixed in a whole grain wrap and they literally did nothing for me. SO, if I know it will be a long time until I can eat, I make sure to really enjoy some healthy fats. Nut butters are my favourite, but nuts, seeds, avocado and eggs are all excellent options. I know that the saturated fat in dairy isn’t theย best,ย but it’s also not the worst and I happen to enjoy it, so I had a homemade latte with 1% milk on the side of my breakfast. ๐Ÿ™‚

Lunch: Egg, cheese + jam sandwich. + apple slices!ย 

cheesejamsandwich

I have been seeing the egg/cheese/jam combination around the blog world for far too long without trying it. So I finally did! I think mozzarella cheese might have been better but laughing cow was all we had. It was yummy, but not my favourite meal EVER. I also had an apple because I hadn’t even eaten one yet and it was already 1pm. The horror.

Dinner: Tilapia with sweet potato, steamed broccoli & a tzatziki salad.ย 

tilapiaIt didn’t even feel too awkward to be eating this early because the sun still sets at 4:30pm. ๐Ÿ˜‰ย 

Dessert: Quest chocolate peanut butter protein bar.ย 

I’m not the hugest fan of packaged protein bars, but clearly time has been a little short lately and I haven’t had a chance to whip something like these up. I like that Quest bars haveย lessย ingredients than other ones, but they are still processed! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

full_quest-bar-samoas_CEZvnOkX6rdM9Although… I’m definitely going to need to get on the baking with quest bars train before I try to eat less of them.ย 

There you have it! This is definitely not a typical day for me. Usually I have at LEAST three snacks thrown in there. But sometimes life just throws you off. However, I happened to be STARVING when I got home, so I made myself a grilled almond butter and jam sandwich, and face-planted into bed. ๐Ÿ™‚ I could really care less about the whole “Eat three hours before sleep” fad, because frankly, I can’t sleep when I’m hungry, Bob Harper!ย 

14 thoughts on “WIAW: Ninja Style

  1. Fat is definitely where it’s at (Dr.Seuss, eat your heart out). I tried the whole high-protein thing, but nopeโ€ฆ need to have the fat or I don’t feel anywhere near satisfied. And I -wish- I could whip up some granola bars for you — I’m already on my fourth batch ๐Ÿ˜ฏ

  2. Egg, Jam, and Cheese? I don’t think I could do that… Sounds a bit too weird to me (: I’m also a crazy apple girl. Probably my favorite snack. I do one a day, juuuust about every day (:

    That tilapia looks delicious. Your meals are so pretty!

    I’m also not quite sure on quest bars. They are yummy, but so expensive, and I don’t know if they are really Good for You.. I have a hard time believing something that processed is super healthy?

Leave a Reply

