Fast & Voluminous Protein-Packed Pumpkin OATS!

How’s that for a title? Happy Tuesday! Today is like my Monday. Boo. 😦 Although I don’t have class this week, it’s still JAM. PACKED.

I studied all day long yesterday, and then:

Tuesday: Social exam 9am-12pm. Chemistry diploma prep 5:30-9:30pm

Wednesday: Study biology all day loonnnng. Chemistry diploma prep 5:30-9:30pm

Thursday: Biology exam 9am-12pm. Work 2:30pm-6:30pm

Friday: Die.

I do work on Saturday, but only for 6 hours and then I’m off on Sunday! Yay for my first day off in 2+ weeks. Anyway, my schedule is not interesting! But fluffy oats packed with protein and vitamins ARE!

By adding chia seeds mixed with water (which absorb a ton of liquid), along with pumpkin puree and a whole egg, your once-measly serving size of oats has TRIPLED into a bowl full of delectable goodness full of protein, healthy fats and energy boosting carbohydrates.

Fast & Voluminous Protein-Packed Pumpkin Oats:

oatmeal2

Ingredients: 

  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1 cup water or milk of choice (I like unsweetened almond milk)
  • 1/4 cup pure pumpkin puree
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla extract (I just pour a bit in)
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tbsp chia seeds + 1/2 cup water
  • Optional spices
  • Toppings galore! Bananas, apples, nut butter and dried fruit are my favourites. 🙂

Directions:

  1. Combine oats and chia seeds and set in the fridge for 10-30 minutes (I do this step right when I wake up, and check it occasionally to make sure it doesn’t solidify too much.)
  2. Add oats and water in a pot, cover, and heat on high until boiling.
  3. Once bubbling, lower heat, remove lid, and cook until the oats are 90% done, stirring frequently.
  4. Add vanilla and any other spices your little heart desires (cinnamon, nutmeg, etc.)
  5. Thoroughly stir in the chia seed mixture.
  6. And do the same with the pumpkin!
  7. Crack the egg into a separate bowl, whisk, and stir vigorously until well combined with the oats.
  8. Decorate and DEVOUR.

I mean, you’re pretty much having

tiffany

9 thoughts on “Fast & Voluminous Protein-Packed Pumpkin OATS!

  1. Yum yum yum!! Chia seeds are the best. I always add them to my oats! (: Am I the only one who avoids pumpkin recipes because you have to open the WHOLE can and then use the WHOLE thing within a few days?? 😦 They need mini cans of pumpkin because I love pumpkin but I can only eat so much of it!

  2. Thanks for the chia seed tip! I’ve seen them at Trader Joe’s and am thinking I should pick up a bag.

    And girlie, I FEEL YOU on the studying! I’m currently in my college’s library studying organic chemistry at 12 a.m. A Starbucks triple shot caramel latte is the only thing keeping me going hahah!

  3. Pingback: It’s Okay To Eat A Lot. [WIAW] |

Leave a Reply

