Five Things Friday: 5 Reasons Why I’m A Writer

We made it! It’s Friday! Am I the only one who feels like this week just disappeared? Honestly! Was it not just Friday yesterday? Although, I’m not one to complain about a weekend, especially one with PLUS THREE DEGREES (~40F) being promised to us on Saturday by Mr. Weather Apple.

desert snowmanHow I feel about these January temperatures. [source.]

Anyway, I felt like talking about a few non-food related things today because…well because I felt like it! And I realized that since I’m fairly new to blogging, I haven’t really had a chance to talk about certain things that are a BIG aspect of my personality. One of which happens to be writing.

selfieHow sad is it that the most recent picture I can find of myself is from this summer? #fail

I absolutely love it. Always have, always do. It’s my #1 passion, without a doubt, and something I will be continuing with in university. (Specifics? Don’t have any. Come on, nobody knows what they want to do with their ENTIRE lives at 17/18. But I digress). I’m sure a lot of bloggers can relate to this, since maintaining a blog involves a LOT of writing. So, I’m linking up with Five Things Friday for the five reasons why I’m a writer.

1. I’m an incoherant speaker. Often times, if I’m trying to explain something that I don’t quite understand myself, or am talking about something that makes me nervous, the words just don’t come. I can barely make sense of what my brain is trying to tell me and it all comes out in a jumbled mess. The moment I start writing, though, it’s like I have entire encyclopedias at my fingertips. If I pause to think of a word or a better way to phrase something, it’s usually only for a moment and then I continue on.

2. I’m not actually very artistic. I know, I know. You don’t have to be a “good artist” to draw or a “good singer” to sing. But let’s be honest, here. Who actually wants to do something regularly that only makes them feel lesser than other people? Not me, that’s for sure. But I believe that we all have a lot of creativity within us, and that needs to be expressed! The world needs architects, singers, actors, the list goes on. But writing is my tool to express all of my thoughts and emotions, make sense of them, and feel more at peace.

book benchCan’t say that I would have been able to design this – a bench made out of only books! 

3. There are so many options! Sometimes I am beyond inspired, and want to write a novel. Other days, I am feeling intelligent and legitimately enjoy writing critical essays. There are absolutely times when I’m hit with nothing but writer’s block, which is when I pull out one of the many books I have on the go and just get cozy. But usually, I’m just in the mood to relax and allow whatever words that come to my mind flow, which is where blogging fits perfectly! Unlike playing a sport, there is always a time for writing. With running, if I’m too tired or my knee hurts, I’m out, plain and simple. But I always have choices with writing.

booksThe goal to read 100 books in 2014 is coming along nicely. [source.]

4. I think that language is beautiful. I’m only fluent in English, but I absolutely adore languages and the idea of learning more. I’m conversant in French, and I hope to be able to speak it fluently someday! Nevertheless, the English language astonishes me with all of the different words and ways to put the same thing! It’s one of the reasons I spend far too much time playing scrabble on my phone (nerd alert). It’s also why I’m madly in love with reading – learning new words, and appreciating the artistry that some authors have.

le choc

5. It makes me feel special. As I already said, I have always been a writer. Since the time I was five years old I was absolutely loving writing stories and being told that I was talented. As I grew up and dabbled in a lot of things that I was just average at, writing has always been that one thing that never changed. Through stopping ski racing, a sport that consumed eleven years of my life, soccer, which I spent almost the same amount of time playing, and multiple running injuries, I’ve always had writing to fall back on, which helped me not to feel lost and like I had nothing to offer.

love[source.]

So there you have it! A little something about me that you didn’t know before (and that hopefully didn’t bore you to tears).

What is your passion?

9 thoughts on “Five Things Friday: 5 Reasons Why I’m A Writer

  1. Absolutely agree with you on the writing. There was a time where life was super hectic and I believed I was too tired and mentally drained to write like I used to. But then I learnt that writing actually helped me feel better – after a tiring day or at the start of a busy one.

  2. Oh, I love writing. I tend to think I am terrible at writing though, even though my English grade says I’m pretty good. I love your writing style and I think your blog really shows how strong of a writer you are.

  3. Holy cow we are exactly the same! That’s insane – I love reading, I can’t express myself in words as well as I sometimes can in writing, I’m not an artist, and I am conversant in French as well! I can’t wait to read more of your posts 🙂

Leave a Reply

