Thinking Out Loud: Musings of the Exam-Crazed

Good morning! I couldn’t not link up with Thinking Out Loud today, considering it’s the perfect way to get out all of the thoughts in my brain that I have no way to organize because I am too busy studying! So thank you, Amanda! 😉

1. I feel like we have some sort of control over our sleep cycles. I’ve been SO unbearably stressed this week, and despite the fact that I woke up at 5am for the first time on Tuesday (I usually get up at 7am), I’ve woken up naturally without an alarm the past two days. I literally just jump out of bed, ready for action. It’s insanity.

IMG_0185Strangely unnecessary.

2. Eating is inconvenient. – Says the girl who HATES eating on the run and likes to take a looooooonnnnggg time to enjoy meals. I still take study breaks when I’m hungry, but I’m usually in and out of the kitchen in <5 minutes.

IMG_0119Too bad i’m getting hit HARD with a baking craving.

3. Except for the fact that I’ve been forgetting to get hungry?! My brain is just too full, I suppose. I wonder what area of the brain coordinates hunger. The frontal lobe of the cerebral cortex is responsible for memory, and the parietal lobe processes sensory information….

4. These albums…are GOOD. I’m not usually one for uber mainstream pop (sidenote: people that actually enjoy popular music but can’t admit it and listen to alternative for the sake of being hipster drive me CRAZY! But I digress.), but this music has been seriously perking up my day.

lorde-pure-heroine-1024x1024Lorde: Pure Heroine

Prism_coverKaty Perry: Prism

Unbroken by Demi LovatoDemi Lovato: Unbroken. I know…a little late to the train on this one. Only 2+ years. 

5. The combination that is peanut butter and chocolate. Can we just take a moment? I made these from Averie Cooks over the break, and now I need (NEED!) this chocolate peanut butter bread in my life from How Sweet Eats] Not to mention I’ve been eating chocolate peanut butter yogurt, chocolate peanut butter oatmeal…its a problem.

chocchipcookies-9

6. Ugly shoes have been trendy for far too long. First it was TOMS, then Sperry’s, and now Sorels?! Don’t even get me started on Doc’s. I have a pair of Sorels that I bust out for -40 C / F days (hello, Alberta winters), but I’m certainly not trying to make a fashion statement and change out of them as soon as I get to school. My greatest apologies if these are your favourite brands of shoes but I just do not understand the hype.

Mandatory Credit: Photo by BDG / Rex Features (1265846a) Elle MacPherson Elle Macpherson out and about in Aspen, Colorado, America - 23 Dec 2010Don’t get me wrong, I love Elle Macphearson, but just…ugh.

7. I am DONE with high school. The petty drama and immaturity level makes me want to rip my hair out. I cannot explain how excited I am for university and to be around actually like-minded people. It’s SUCH  foreign concept right now.

What’s your opinion on recent shoe trends?

Do you always need an alarm? 

3 thoughts on “Thinking Out Loud: Musings of the Exam-Crazed

  1. Oh, I love Lorde 😉 And the alarm clock is necessary for me. Always. Only in 18 years of the life I got up early couple without alarm clock… Once I woke up in 5 a.m and felt so much energy. I executed some exercises while my roommate slept (as well as all campus)… I even managed not to wake her! 😀 But days become too exhausting when you get up early.

  2. To be honest, I can’t even remember the last time an alarm woke me up… and is it crazy that I actually -wish- it would? I wake up way too ridiculously early, and it’d be nice to actually sleep in some time. I mean… the sun doesn’t rise until around 9 AM, so I’m usually sitting around in the dark for a good 4-4.5 hours — not the most motivating way to start a day. And girl… don’t even get me start on shoe trends. I will say one thing tho — I’ll take Sorels over Uggs any day.

Leave a Reply

