Five Things Friday

Maybe there’s something to this “recovery” business after all!

Yesterday, I went for my first run in THREE WEEKS. No, I wasn’t just super lazy (only a little bit). I got my wisdom teeth out on December 13, and for a while there even walking hurt my mouth. Anything high impact was out of the question. I started working out again after one week, but only low-impact circuits. I had another one written out that I brought with me to the gym yesterday, but the treadmills were calling my name! So off I went. I did 5.0 miles @ 8:18 average pace, 0% incline. I just can’t make myself switch it to 1%, it hurts so much more.

Anyway, immediately after I got home I had a mocha protein smoothie and then STRETCHED AND FOAM ROLLED for a good 15+ minutes. And today, I’m barely sore at all. Normally when I jump back into running after a break I can’t make it three feet without whining, but right now I feel about 80%, muscles-wise. Win. 🙂

So, if you’re not doing this already, START. It makes a difference. Moving on, today I’m linking up to Five Things Friday! Because it involves lists and random thoughts, aka my jam.

Five Food Combinations

  1. Eggs + Hummus. With runny yolks!
  2. Blueberries + pomegranates + goat cheese. No words.
  3. Almond butter + yogurt. Totally missed the train on this one. Judge me.
  4. Salsa + kabocha squash. Try it!
  5. Chocolate + PB. Tried and true. Cannot be beat.

eggs + hummus

Five Books I’m Currently Reading. Yes, I have literary ADD.

  1. The Cuckoo’s Calling. I started reading this before I knew it was written by JK Rowling and I swear I could feel her through the writing. Magical.cuckoo's calling
  2. Allegiant. 
  3. The Rosie Project. 
  4. Creative Confidence. 
  5. Crazy Sexy Diet. Not too sure how I feel about this. Expect a recap soon before 2015!

Five Songs I’m Loving

  1. Roar by Katy Perry.
  2. Let Her Go by Passenger.
  3. Comme on Attend le Printempts by Jerome Couture. I could care less that I have zero idea what the words to this song mean, it’s beautiful.jerome_article
  4. Say Something by Great Big World & Christina Aguilera
  5. Gold Trans Am by Kesha. Again, judge me. This song is amazing to run to.

And lastly,

Happy birthday Amanda!

It’s been a really long time since we talked, but I hope your day tomorrow is amazing! You were so sweet when we were emailing and you deserve the best. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Five Things Friday

Leave a Reply

