17 While 17

Good morning! Today is a slightly more normal morning for me, considering it’s currently 9:34am as I write this post. Yesterday I was up at 4:30 and worked out, showered, blogged, cleaned up and ate breakfast all before 7am. Even though I was quite impressed with myself, I was also glad to have a slower Sunday.

Anyway, guess what? I turned 17 on Friday! Unlike turning 16, I wasn’t actually all that excited for this birthday. 17 sounds so much older than 16, and it’s SO scarily close to 18. And adulthood. And starting my life.

Cringe.

No, no. Don’t get me wrong, I am definitely excited for all of that, but it’s daunting! However, I really wanted to make the most of my last year at home and as a kid, so I made a “17 While 17” list, of things that I want to do before I turn 18!

And, because my life is so spectacularly interesting I decided to share it with all of you lovely people. 🙂

17 While 17

1. Read 17 books

I originally set a goal of 100, and then realized that would require me to read roughly 2 books per week. Um, considering the fact that I will be on two sports teams, heavily involved in the newspaper and a leadership group at school, along with working part time and needing ridiculously high grades, I realized this was totally impossible. So 17 will be perfectly manageable!

2. Write a book

I’ve always been a writer, and I’ve started more books than I can count. I need to finish one!

3. Get accepted to UBC

My dream school, and notoriously difficult to get in to. I would compare it to the Ivy League schools in the USA, although likely not quite as bad.

ubcNo thank you, I think I’ll pass on living here…said no one ever. 

4. Run a half marathon

Again, I originally wanted to do a full marathon, but that’s just not practical with track and cross country practice using up all my energy and other extracurriculars, my time.

5. Be a vegan for a week

I’m not interested in actually becoming a vegan, but I think that a week of eating only 100% natural, plant-based foods would be a wonderful reset for my body.

Vegan-Food-Pyramid-NewNatural things take priority here! Not the processed soy and fake proteins. 

6. Become published

This doesn’t have to be the book I write. That is one of my long-term goals, but it doesn’t need to happen before I turn 18. I just want something that I write to be published, whether it’s a small article or something else.

7. Learn another language

I haven’t decided if I want this to mean starting a totally new language, or becoming more fluent in French. Ideally it would be both, but we’ll see.

8. Write everyday

Mainly blogging! But on the days that I don’t, I want to be working on my book and journalling. Writing is a huge part of who I am and I want to continue cultivating that.

9. Go to the Ellen Degeneres Show

Self-explanatory. Love her.

06-ellen-season10-premiere

10. 100% unplug for 24 hours

Obviously I’m not one of those people who hates technology, but I think it would be so nice to have just one day where I don’t have to answer to people texting, calling, emaling, etc. Just good old fashioned, face-to-face conversations.

11. Win a race

Who wants to find me a 5K with zero registrants?! Jokes aside, I’ve never actually won a race. Not skiing, running, or anything. I’ve gotten silver, but never gold. That needs to change!

12. Try something new every day

It can be food, a different type of outfit, new way of doing things, whatever, as long as I am always branching out of my comfort zone!

13. Visit 2 new Canadian cities

My trip to Europe made me appreciate my country so much more, and I want to experience it! I’ve only ever been to the Maritimes once, and Vancouver once, both of which times I was too young to really remember it. Not okay!

montrealriver2Could you even imagine? Unbelievable. 

14. Join a running club

I would absolutely love to find some people with similar interests as me! I love my friends to death, but I don’t have anyone to talk to about health freakdom or running and I seriously need that in my life.

15. See the Northern Lights

I live in the North (ish)….and have not once experienced this phenomenon. Needs to change!

yukon-northern-lightsAgain…Just completely breathtaking.

16. Host a party

I don’t know why I haven’t done this yet! There really is no reason.

17. Start my career

Okay, okay, I know I’m only 17! But because I think that I want to go into the field of health/communications, there’s not the job security that comes with, say, a doctor of medicine. So I just want to be proactive and start doing something related to possible future jobs, so I don’t graduate and end up managing a Superstore.

What’s your #1 goal right now? 

2 thoughts on “17 While 17

  1. Love all these goals! You’ve got a busy year ahead of you. 😉
    I recently (well, about three and a half months ago) turned 18, and it honestly didn’t feel much different! It does a little bit now, but I expected it to be this big “omg I’m 18!!!” thing but not really! I can technically do a lot more stuff now, but most of it is stuff I wouldn’t really want to do anyway haha.
    My current goal is also to run a half marathon… only about seven weeks away! Woo!

    • Thanks! I feel exactly the same at 17 as I did at 16, so I’m not really expecting 18 to be that different. I agree with you though, most of the things I can do next year I don’t have much desire to do anyway! Good luck with your training!

Leave a Reply

