Vacation Hiatus + Why You Need THIS Workout

Okay, so I have a few apologies to make.

Firstly, I need to say sorry to Brittany, the wonderful blogger who wrote a guest post for me while I was away. The WiFi in the hotels I was staying in was suuuuper erratic, so it didn’t post when I thought it did. I asked for it for July 27, and, perfectly on time, Brittany sent a fantastic post over for me to publish! So, I am SO sorry, Brittany, that I haven’t gotten it up until now.

I also need to say sorry to all of you for my 5 week hiatus! The week before I left was absolutely crazy, and then my time in Europe was beyond exhausting. Amazing, but I was so busy all the time and any free moment I had I needed to use to rest and collect myself. Posting just was not an option.

But, alas and alack, I am home now, (trying) to recover from jet lag, and regular posting will resume immediately! So without further ado, I will turn things over to Brittany!

Hi there! My name is Brittany and I blog over at Balance and Bananas. I’m so excited that Emma has asked me to do a guest post for you guys!

Today, I’d love to share with you my love for yoga and its benefits.

yoga1

I started yoga about 5 years ago when my doctor recommended that I try it to relieve some anxiety. There was no going back after my first class! I practice both Ashtanga and Iyengar yoga, which, though similar, are very very different in methodology.

There are an innumerable amount of benefits from yoga, but I’m going to tell you about some of my favorites:

Regular practice of yoga leads to…a more positive outlook 

yoga2

Seriously, the more you do yoga, the happier you are. Now, it doesn’t come instantly. The reason you’re happy is partly because of the meditative quality of yoga. You’re linking your breath to poses, focusing on the inhale and the exhale, and trying to reach a comfortable edge with each nuance. This quiets the mind and allows for a more peaceful outlook.

…more confidence not only in your practice, but off the mat as well! 

yoga3

The more you practice yoga (correctly, I might add), the more your body remembers the alignment of poses, the better you are at your asanas. It’s no lie when they say, “Yoga is for everyone.” If you see some wild pose, you too can work towards that. You can accomplish poses that you never would’ve guessed you’d be able to do. It all comes with consistent practice. It helps build your self-confidence, which will in the end better your life!

…more patience and a calmer approach to life 

yoga4

One of the most amazing things about yoga is how it gives you a renewed sense of patience. You’ll start to notice how you handle situations with a more relaxed and neutral perspective. It’s truly amazing how much more relaxed I’ve become because of yoga. It really just gives you a breath of fresh air!

…a more flexible and stronger body, and in turn, a more open heart 

yoga5

This is one of my favorite benefits. Yoga works to both strengthen and release tension throughout our bodies. Most of us understand that there is both the physical and mental part of our beings, but what many forget is that we have a third part, and that is our energies. We store our energies, good and bad, throughout the body…our hips, our hamstrings, our necks, our backs, the list goes on. It’s no wonder people have a hard time opening up both physically and mentally! Yoga, with the help of breath, works to dive deep into our stressed areas and release the toxins that are bound within. Have you ever heard a yoga teacher ask you to “breath into your hamstrings?” They’re not saying to physically breath on your leg, but rather to imagine the breath moving through body and into that specific area. The breath helps your physical body to relax and release, in turn allowing your mind to release. You see how it’s all connected??

These are just some of the benefits that come from regular practice of yoga…really any type of yoga! There are so many branches of yoga that are suitable for everyone. You just have to find your favorite and the one that works for you. I hope you enjoyed my little spiel on one of my favorite activities 🙂 Have a wonderful Friday and a great weekend!

 ^Just pretend it’s friday, k? Thanks so much Brittany! 😉
Have you ever tried yoga?
What is the last new workout you did? 
Leave a Reply

