WIAW: Oops.

Well, hello again!

I didn’t love not posting yesterday, but life sorta got in the way. I didn’t even stop to breathe for all of Canada Day, had a sleepover that night, then spent all of yesterday with friends until collapsing at home at 6pm. I don’t do well with minimal sleep anytime, but especially not when my day is jam-packed. Needless to say, I just didn’t have it in me to blog. My greatest apologies!

Things have been a little strange over here on the food front lately. Some days I’m legitimately starving 30 minutes after I finish breakfast and others I don’t get hungry all day. I’ve also been preoccupied with travel stuff, so food actually has not been that much of a priority in my life!

But, it simply would not be a Wednesday without WIAW, so here we go!

I woke up at 9:00am yesterday(!!). Leave it to me to finally start adjusting to summer mode, right before I have to start waking up early again. I’m glad that sleeping until 9 is sleeping in for me, though. Mornings are by FAR my most productive time of day, so when I sleep them away I feel lazy and gross until I wake up the next day. Not actually that enjoyable. Anyway, yesterday I did something reaaaalllyyyyy bad. gy

Recycled picture, because this was actually not in my life yesterday morning. Monday night I was feeling really upset and stressed about a ton of things, so come Tuesday I bolted out of bed and went out for a run. I’m surprised I even managed to remember all my clothes – I was out the door that fast. When I get into a state like that, I need to run. Nothing else clears my head properly and allows me to stay a normal human being. When I got back at 10am, I had to do a bunch of dishes, shower, and then before I knew it my friends were ready to go for lunch! I obviously wasn’t going to eat right before going to a restaurant, and I still wasn’t that hungry (running steals my appetite), so I just left let.

Yep. I skipped breakfast yesterday. NOT on purpose. I was debating even participating in WIAW today because truthfully, I felt like a huge failure. Some days I feel like I’ve come so far in recovery, and I convey that on the blog to encourage myself to keep it up. I want to remember the triumphant days that I’ve put another fear to bed and that’s why I talk about it. Not because I’m looking for any sort of recognition or pity or…I don’t even know.

Regardless, I decided I still wanted to do What I Ate Wednesday because it’s freaking fun! I messed up this morning. Oh well! Life goes on. It’s not a pattern and I simply refuse to make a mountain out of a molehill. We make mistakes, learn from them and move on.

As I said, I was with my friends at lunch yesterday. The semi-awkwardness of snapping food pics in public combined with the fact that my mind was 110% out to lunch that day (pardon the pun 😉 ), meant that lunch went unpictured. We went to De Dutch, an adorable downtown restaurant and it was great!

ham-pineapple-tostie-photo(Via.)

That would be the Ham, Edam + Pineapple Tostie, which our waitress described as “fancy grilled cheese”. Um, grilled anything is a winner in my books, and so was this baby. I would have never thought to put pineapple in a grilled ham and cheese sandwich, but let me tell you something, the Dutch have got it right. This also reminded me that I need to seriously get on a grilled apple and cheese sandwich, AND grilled PB+J! Busy times ahead, folks.

For dinner I obviously had to make up for my missing breakfast, so I went with the tried and true combo of greek yogurt with berries and a 2% latte. Never changes.

yogurt2

Simply perfect and perfectly simple. Also, am I the only person in the world that cuts her blackberries? My mom thought it was super weird when she saw me doing it but I find them way too big to have in one bite – especially in conjunction with the other berries. It’s a science!

latte

Speaking of my (finally) pictured latte, can we just take a moment to appreciate this mug?! I’m sort of in love with it. Minus the whole “great dancer” thing, which everyone in the free world knows is an atrocious lie.

And although this wasn’t mine, I felt it was necessary to show as well.

crepes

Yep, those are banana-nutella crepes with whipped cream, chocolate syrup and icing sugar. They were ordered by one of my friends, who devoured them. I had a bite and honestly wanted to throw up. How can people handle that much sweet? I mean, I’m all for a nutella pizza, but that is seriously pushing it. Ironically, her (small) leftovers are now sitting in my fridge.

That’s all for today! Have a wonderful hump day!

What is your favourite foreign food?

One thought on “WIAW: Oops.

  1. I can totally relate to liking being a morning person. When I get up past 8 or 9 (which is basically never) I feel so sluggish all day and feel like I’ve wasted quality morning time!

    I really wouldn’t worry about skipping breakfast breakfast once in a while. I’ve never had an eating disorder and trust me, normal people skip the morning meal occasionally because life gets in the way. As long as it doesn’t become a habit, it’s not something to stress about! I’m glad you posted a WIAW or else I wouldn’t have found your blog!

Leave a Reply

