WIAW: Please Remind Me

Please, please remind me…

Why it’s just so important to memorize all of the phylums that go into kingdoms, and the kingdoms tthat go into domains?

Why approximately 7.9 million scientists had to have their own unique, unbearably detailed yet incredibly crucial philosophies of evolution?

And why if I don’t perfectly understand what may occur from excess phosphate runoff, I’m not going to graduate high school? (Okay, maybe that’s a little excessive, but you catch my drift.)

My point is, even while I spend the next twelve hours dying, trying to cram a textbook full of information into my brain by osmosis, I still needed to pop in for WIAW! Thanks to Jenn for hosting!

I’m pretty much the epitome of sensible snacking right now, since I’m way too stressed out to make proper meals. I actually did take pictures of most of my eats, but there was definitely some unpictured grab  + go action in between units (read: categories of increasing boredom and irrelevance to live)

7:00am: Pre-workout 2% latte + invisible strawberries.  I’m not actually starving before I work out in the mornings, but I have hypoglycemia, so if I exert myself even slightly without some sugar in my body, things go downhill fast. 

Image

9:15am: Post-workout smoothie. I blended up some frozen pineapple, unsweetened vanilla almond milk and vanilla protein powder and called it good.

Image

While I’m on the topic of workouts, I have a question for all of you weight-lifters! Due to some personal reasons, I’m cutting back on running and working on gaining some muscle. I did Week 1, Day 2 of the Life Fit Trainer because it felt like a back/biceps day. I’m not following the full program, but I’ve heard good things about the workouts. Anyway, my arm muscles were definitely fatigued, but until I hopped on the treadmill as a last resort to feel like I worked hard, I didn’t even sweat. Nope, not once. So I guess I’m just wondering, is this normal? I worked my muscles and know that they will get stronger, but I’ve heard that weight lifting can get your heart rate up like cardio, so what did I do wrong? I’m new at this and feeling frustrated!

12:30pm: Protein pancakes with greek yogurt + strawberries. I LOVE the Fitnessista’s protein pancakes! They were the first ones I ever made that I was able to flip properly, and had enough ingredients so that the protein powder didn’t overtake the taste. De-lish. And yes, that is a super attractive picture that I had no choice but to filter slightly excessively. I’m loving the word excessive today, in case you haven’t noticed. I’ve been using it excessively. After these, I went back for some carrots and cherry tomatoes.

Image

4:00pm: Medium latte + Quest bar. I met up with some friends at a local coffee shop for a much needed study break, and had the most delicious latte in the history of espresso. Not even exaggerating. I wish I had remembered to take a picture of it, because it was seriously beautiful. I also wish I had remembered to microwave my Quest bar! Obviously I wouldn’t have done when I was out, but I have heard everyone rave about it and have yet to experience it. Adding it to the list…

7:00pm: Grilled turkey + cheese sandwich with peas. So, I’m obsessed with grilled sandwiches of ANY kind. Although I haven’t actually tried the more interesting ones like grilled PB+J or PB+ banana…I think that needs to become a priority around here. Anyway, this was SUPER yum. Anyone who tells me grains aren’t okay in the evenings gets a personal invitation to jump off of my balcony. (I’m on the 22nd floor, by the way 😉 )

Image,

9:00pm: Dessert Snack Bowl. I often always have an impossible time deciding what I feel like for a night snack, so last night I just went with it and had a nice variety. (As you can see,) there were some strawbs, blueberries,cashews, + dark chocolate.Image

Overall, I would say this was a pretty good day for me! Three servings of veggies, three servings of fruit, some whole grains and lots of protein! Now go check out everyone else’s delicious eats!

Does strength training fatigue you as much as cardio?

What do you like to have for a snack in the evenings? 

What did/do you hate stuyding the most in school? 

One thought on “WIAW: Please Remind Me

Leave a Reply

