Pushing Through Workouts.

Good afternoon! It’s been pretty miserable weather here the past few days, and even though today isn’t much different, I’m not letting it bother me. I went and had a great workout, delicious lunch, and am sitting on my bed right now, doing what I love, before baking some chocolate chip cookies. Life is good. I wasn’t actually intending to get so personal in yesterday’s post, but the words just kept flowing. In an effort to keep things light and positive on this blog, though, today’s topic is all about FITNESS.

“Emma, isn’t your whole blog about fitness?”

Shush.

So anyway, life is good. You know what else is good?

Empowering Workouts. This morning I did not want to go to the gym. Not remotely. It was rainy, miserable, and to be honest, downright depressing. They say that starting your workout is half the battle – so I was hoping that if I just managed to get out of bed, the exercise would come a little easier. Sadly, that couldn’t have been farther from the truth.

I’m running a 5K on July 1st, Canada day, and I want need to get a PR. I haven’t run a race in almost two years a really long time, so I think my race PR is something like 25 minutes. Far from impressive, and this is how I feel about it.

canadabeaver

Ideally, in my best shape, I know I’m capable of a sub-20. I’ve ran close to that on training runs, so with the proper training, I know the time will come. However, I have not been running ideally lately. I’ve been plagued with knee problems, as I’ve been all my life, and although not drastically, they have absolutely impacted my running. So I’m aiming for a ~23 minute race. Not too fast, not too slow, juuuuuuust right.

But to do that, I need to WORK. Once I arrived, I hopped on the dreadmill (recall the weather) and decided I was going to do mile repeats. Ouch. I don’t have the physical ability to run at race pace for the full 3 miles yet, so I chose to do faster miles, broken up. But instead of resting, I decided it would be a good idea to add in an arm circuit between them. Please note the sarcasm.

I did 3 rounds of: (using 10 pound weights)

  • 10 dumbbell presses
  • Single overhead tricep extension
  • 10 bicep curls

Slide1

And then I went back to the treadmill. So, if you haven’t been able to follow, my total workout looked like this:

  • Run 1 mile at 7:00 pace
  • 10 dumbell presses, 10 tricep extensions, 10 bicep curls
  • Run 1 mile at 7:00 pace
  • 10 dumbell presses, 10 tricep extensions, 10 bicep curls
  • Run 1 mile at 7:00 pace
  • 10 dumbell presses, 10 tricep extensions, 10 bicep curls

Phew! You had better believe I was a sweaty mess after. And because I decided I was Superwoman, I met my mom for yoga 30 minutes later. Thankfully it was a hatha class, but still. I downed a strawberry-banana protein smoothie when I got home and promptly collapsed on the couch.

Because I’ve been athletic my whole life, I’ve had my fair share of tough workouts. Growing up as a competitive ski racer, I went through countless hours of vomit-inducing dryland training. Because of this, I feel like I’ve gotten pretty good at pushing myself to finish anything thrown at me. This workout was challenging both physically and mentally, and I wanted to share some tips on how to get through the toughest routines.

intenseSo it’s going to be one of those days, is it?

  • Imagine yourself 1 hour later. It’s not enough for me to just “Imagine how good I’ll feel after”, because then and there, I am dying. So think about it this way. One hour is going to pass regardless. You can either finish that beast, feel like a complete champion, or not. I’m not saying you should be ashamed of yourself if you just cannot finish, but always shoot for BEAST mode. And remember that you most certainly will not die.
  • Stay in the moment. It’s so easy to think “Ohmahgawd. I cannot take one more step. I have to do this for how much longer?!”. That is simply a recipe for disaster. Instead, focus on where you are at that exact moment. Don’t think about the future, don’t think about the past, just remain present in the workout. I’m not saying it will fly by (because let’s be honest, everyone who says that is just a liar), but it will definitely help you keep your composure.
  • Talk yourself up. Like I said above: It’s easy to think that you can no longer do something when being pushed to your limits. But how do you think anyone ever reached a goal? If I can promise you one thing and one thing only, it’s that nobody was born with the ability to run an ultra-marathon or complete an Ironman. Getting to that point physically, requires dramatically expanding your limits. And the only way to do that is to PUSH with EVERYTHING you’ve got. That being said, it’s important to believe you can do it. And I don’t mean a simple “Yeah, I rock!” I mean “I am a BEAST in this gym. Not only will I DESTROY this workout, but I will crush ANYONE and ANYTHING in my way.” If you don’t know you can do it, nobody else will!
  • Remember the goal. Finally, its up to some more visualization. I know in my situation, I’m picturing myself finishing my race. No, it’s not some huge, grand goal and yours doesn’t have to be either. I want to do as well as I can, and I don’t want to look back on my training and think I could have done more. So whether you are training for your first race, a marathon, a triathalon, or to look pretty damn sexy in a bikini, just remember what it is that you’re striving for. (And if you’re the latter, visualizing this may help you as well.)

honey boo booCute.

What’s your current fitness goal? 

How is the weather where you live? 

One thought on “Pushing Through Workouts.

  1. My current fitness goal is to finish another round of Insanity, lose some inches and a few pounds (Does 20 pounds count as a few? 😀 ). The weather in NC is pure torture. Very hot and humid. Morning runs are definitely better than in the evenings here if you’re trying to avoid a heat stroke!!!!!

Leave a Reply

