Fitness Favourites

I woke up today, HUNGRY. Maybe because it’s the last day of school (!) I just needed extra fuel to get me through it. Anyway, this morning’s breakfast was to die for. I was craving a yogurt bowl, but didn’t just want fruit and granola. I’ve been seeing a ton of people put nut butter on theirs, but it just sounded so wrong to me.

Not anymore. I decided to do mine a la Amanda and add half a banana, strawberries,  strawberry + dark chocolate granola, cinnamon and almond butter. I literally died. How on EARTH have I lived for so long without this? Needless to say, I’m glad my days of egg whites for breakfast are long gone.

And now, let’s get into the post, shall we? There are so many aspects of a healthy lifestyle. Killer workouts, good nutrition, fitness equipment, fitness technology, the list goes on and on. I’ve gotten to a place over the past year where I feel pretty solid in my fitness setup, which is why I decided to share it in today’s post!

Favourite Pre-Workout Snack: I have a very finicky stomach when it comes to running in the sense that I absolutely have to listen to it 100%. None of this, “Every morning before I run I have a banana with peanut butter.” Some mornings I have to eat, some I cannot. On the days that I do wake up hungry, though, I like to have a snack-sized smoothie. I’m planning a recipe post for this to go up on Thursday, so watch out for that, but its not super complicated. Liquids are the best to have before exercising because they take less time to digest, and cause less cramping. I typically just blend up some frozen fruit, a 1/2 or 1/4 scoop of protein powder with unsweetened vanilla almond milk and I am good to go.

SONY DSC

Because it is humanly impossible for me to photograph an attractive smoothie…(Source.)

Favourite Post-Workout Snack: As I said, I have an extremely sensitive stomach on the running front, and that extends approximately two hours before and after the event. I know it’s so important to refuel your muscles after exercise, so I do my best, but I’ll be honest. Some days it just can’t happen. And look! I haven’t turned into a pile of muscle-less mush. I have been getting better at my post-workout nutrition, however, and I like to have an easy-to-digest smoothie balanced with carbs, fats and proteins. As of late, I’ve been putting 1-2 tbsp almond butter, 1 frozen banana, 1 scoop of vanilla protein powder and 1 cup of unsweetened vanilla almond milk into my Magic Bullet. Perfect. 

Favourite Running Shoes: So, it seems that the whole entire running blog world is head-over-heels in love with Mizunos. I’m sorry to disappoint, but I am not a part of that club. I will forever and always adore my Saucony Ride 3’s. I’ve had a couple of moderately serious knee injuries that flare up from time to time, but the extra padding on the soles of these dramatically decrease my suffering. I’ve been a little bit curious lately what all the hype is about Mizunos, but I don’t think I could ever really make the switch.

Image

Sexy, no?

Favourite Running Accessory: I’m so lame – my RunKeeper app on my iPhone! No, I do not own a Garmin, Polar, or any running watch/technology at all. I’ve sort of been dying for the ever-popular Garmin Forerunner 305, but I just can’t bring myself to buy it. It’s so expensive, and RunKeeper does the job perfectly well. Yes, it’s a little annoying to carry my phone in my hand, but at least for now, I never run more than 6 miles, so it’s not like I’m dealing with it for hours on end. Maybe the opportunity will present itself for me to try it out around a little date called December 25th, but until then, this is what’s been working for me.

Image

Please don’t mind my current snail’s pace. It’s exam time people, I’ve been busy 😉

Favourite Outfit: Pretty much, rain or shine, I wear the same thing when I run or lift weights. First of all, I can never wear a long or short-sleeved top, EVER. Let’s just say it creates a less-than-lovely situation and leave it at that. I wear a tank top and cropped leggings. I don’t get hot, I don’t get cold, and I don’t feel like a freak, either. I highly recommend the Essential Tank from The Gap. I wear it as much as humanly possible, because it is just so darn perfect. It’s super comfortable, breathable, and very flattering. (And I have zero relationship with The Gap and am not sponsored or anything remotely similar to that – I JUST started blogging!)

Favourite Music: I mentioned this in my post on my workout playlist, but I am absolutely obsessed with Eminem. His music has the perfect beat for running, and if I’m angry about something, listening to his rants really helps me get out my frustration.

Image

What are your fitness favourites?

Do you use special running tech?

One thought on “Fitness Favourites

Leave a Reply

