My Weekly Workouts

Since I forgot (again) this week to take pictures for a WIAW post, I decided to do a recap of a typical week in exercise pour moi 🙂

I know that many people beginning a healthy lifestyle struggle with exercise. There are just so many questions! So if this is you I’m talking to…

Image

Read on 🙂 

How often do I go to the gym? Do I have to go to a gym? Do I need to do cardio? Are weights really nessecary? What if I hate running? I’M GOING TO BE FAT FOREVER 😦 <– Yes, I have indeed heard that one multiple times.

Well, fear not, because I have the answer! My approach to exercise is extremely simple: Do what works. I’ve talked about this before, but I truly believe that if you do not love what you are doing, you will not stick with it. 

And on that note, let’s jump into what love! (Note: This is my personal schedule and it will not work for every single human being on the planet! This is simply a guide and my personal preference to staying active + healthy!)


Monday: Mid-length run. I like something challenging enough to start my week off right, but…it’s still Monday. I very rarely do extremely long distance, but if I did, it would not be at 6am on a Monday morning. I will typically get about 4-5 miles in before school, which is plenty for someone like me who gets enough activity throughout the day anyways. 

Tuesday: Strength. I don’t go to a gym and I don’t follow a routine for this. Why? Because strength training is absolutely dispicable to me. I do it because I need to for the health of my knees and back, but thats it. My fallback routine has been pushups, squats, lunges, bicycles, mason twists, and supermans. I do three sets of ten of each exercise, and then repeat that circuit 3-5 times. I can do a more in-depth post on my strength routine if anybody is interested!

Wednesday: Speedy run. My favourite distance is a 5k, so I try to continually improve my time each week. I don’t necessarily race this run, but It’s absolutely an uncomfortable pace that I could not sustain much longer than this distance. 

Thursday: Rest day. Gotta take a day for some lazy bones, man 🙂 Next year, when my school gets half day Thursdays, I might switch this to Wednesday so that I can take advantage of my newfound free time!


Friday: See strength training day from Tuesday! I try to do it twice a week with enough recovery time in between. 

Saturday: My FAVOURITE workout of the week! I wake up whenever I want, and run for however long I want. Sometimes it’s a 10k and sometimes it’s 2. I use this run not to stay in shape or work on fitness, but as my own personal stress reliever. 

Sunday: Rest!

I know that this is pretty standard, but I wanted to get a somewhat-helpful post up today and this was my only idea! Bear with me please, I’m still trying to get the whole blogging thing down 🙂 

Happy hump day!

Leave a Reply

