Forgive me? I’ll Bribe You.

I wasn’t planning to do this. Give in so quickly. But between moving, a huge IB English project, and my online class ALL at the end of the month, I knew something had to give.

I wanted to have a great recipe to post today, since I have literally had negative free time this week to do anything, let alone blog. I was feeling guilty, but also like a genius. I was baking up a storm! I substituted stevia for sugar, added fruit and flax seed and had essentially created 100% good for you VEGAN muffins. They should have been delicious. Except…

I forgot the baking powder. And the salt. And I stirred waaaaaaay too much. The end result? Uncooked after an hour, gluey hockey pucks. I was very upset. I’m sure that you can tell from my choppy sentences that this has not been easy for me to get over.

But, I know that I have to somehow. And what better way to make yourself feel better than fill your house with the wafting aromas of pumpkin and cinnamon? Perhaps if you added some rock cakes and ice lemon lollies you would find yourself somewhere very different… Anyone who gets that without thinking about it gets a free muffin from me. Speaking of muffins, here is your recipe! I must not blabber. I must not tell blabber. I must not tell lies.

The ComaInducingMostAmazingMuffinsEVER…

  • ½ cup all purpose flour
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • ½ cup brown sugar
  • ½ cup milk
  • ½ cup canned pumpkin puree
  • ¼ cup olive oil
  • ½ cup raisins
  • 1 egg
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp cinnamon

Combine the flour, baking power, salt, cinnamon, and brown sugar, then mix in the raisins. Do that in a large-ish bowl. In a smaller one, beat together the egg, milk, pumpkin and oil. Pour this into the dry mixture and beat until you get a just combined, lumpy mixture. Spoon into muffin tins and bake for 20 minutes! Then die of happiness when they enter your mouth.

This month’s recipe is not very healthy. Or Spring-like. So with my most sincere apologies, I beg your forgiveness. And I PROMISE a wonderful healthified Spring recipe VERY SOON 🙂

Happy Saturday!

Leave a Reply

